FIA welcomes France's contribution to the United Nations Road Safety Trust Fund | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

FIA welcomes France's contribution to the United Nations Road Safety Trust Fund

  • fr
  • es

Jean Todt, President of the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) and United Nations Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Road Safety, brought together the members of the FIA High Level Panel for Road Safety (HLP) in Paris on Monday 1 October.

HLP Family picture with President of the French Republic Emmanuel Macron

This FIA body brings together 57 leading personalities, from both the public and private sectors, committed to road safety worldwide. For the past three years, the HLP has been working to finance road safety measures, particularly for developing countries.

Under the impetus of Jean Todt and Olga Algayerova, Executive Secretary of the UNECE, a UN Global Road Safety Trust Fund was established upon request by António Guterres, United Nations Secretary-General, and was launched in New York on April 12, 2018.

After being received at the City Hall by the Mayor of Paris, Anne Hidalgo, herself a member of this panel, the members of the HLP met at the FIA headquarters at Place de la Concorde, and were then hosted in the evening at the Palais de l'Elysée by the President of the French Republic, Emmanuel Macron.

On this occasion, Emmanuel Macron announced a contribution of three million euros, which constitutes a first step, to the UN Road Safety Trust Fund from France, through the Agence Française de Développement (AFD), in particular for road safety projects in Africa, where the road mortality rate is on average three times higher than in Europe. The President of the Republic also stressed that road safety is one of the priorities of French development aid policy.

France is the first country to contribute to this Fund, which has already received contributions from the FIA Foundation, Total, Pirelli and 3M groups.

Jean Todt and the HLP members warmly thank the President of the French Republic, Emmanuel Macron, and Rémy Rioux, Director General of AFD, for this decision by France, which will help to preserve lives on a global scale and set in motion a positive dynamic to finance this cause. They recalled that there are more than 3,500 road traffic fatalities every day on the world's roads, among which 90 per cent occur in developing countries. This makes road crashes one of the most serious pandemics of our time, and the first cause of mortality for 15-29 year olds.

Jean Todt calls for all public and private actors, governments and large companies, to contribute to the United Nations Road Safety Trust Fund.

HLP composition 


Jean Todt, FIA President and UN Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Road Safety


Michelle Yeoh, Actress, Producer and UNDP Goodwill Ambassador

FIA representatives

Thierry Willemarck, FIA Deputy President for Automobile Mobility and Tourism

Thomas Møller Thomsen, FIA President of Region I

Mike Noon, FIA President of Region II

Tim Shearman, FIA President of Region III

Jorge Tomasi Crisci, FIA President of Region IV

Honorary members

Olga Algayerova, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)

Dr. Mohamed Ali Alhakim, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (UNESCWA)

Audrey Azoulay, Director-General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Alicia Bárcena, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UNECLAC)

Violeta Bulc, Commissioner for Mobility and Transport, European Union (EU)

Luis Carranza, Executive President, Development Bank of Latin America (CAF)

Sir Suma Chakrabarti, President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)

Peter Thomas Drennan, Under-Secretary-General for Safety and Security, United Nations (UN)

Luis Alberto Moreno, President, Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)

Maimunah Mohd Sharif, Executive Director UN-Habitat

Vera Songwe, Executive Secretary, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)

Liu Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General, United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA)


Zeid Ra’ad Al Hussein, Former High Commissioner for Human Rights, United Nations (UN)

Thomas Bach, President, International Olympic Committee

Bertrand Badré, Special Expert on Funding

Mary Barra, CEO, General Motors

Irina Bokova, Former Director General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Felipe Calderón, Former President of Mexico

Her Serene Highness Princess Charlene of Monaco

Denis Coderre, Former Mayor of Montreal

Jean-Charles Decaux, Co-CEO, JCDecaux

Guillermo Dietrich, Minister of Transport, Government of Argentina

John Elkann, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Fiat Chrysler Group

François Fillon, Former Prime Minister of France

Christian Friis Bach, Secretary-General, Danish Refugee Council

Claver Gatete, Minister of Infrastructure, Government of Rwanda

Carlos Ghosn, Chairman and CEO, Renault-Nissan Alliance

Rolando Gonzalez-Bunster, Chairman and CEO, InterEnergy Holdings

Pierre Guislain, Vice President for Private Sector, Infrastructure and Industrialisation, African Development Bank (ADB)

Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris and Chair of C40

Arianna Huffington, Founder and CEO, Thrive Global

Gloria Hutt Hesse, Minister of Transport and Telecommunications, Government of Chile

Vito Ippolito, President, Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM)

David Lappartient, President, Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI)

José Luis Irigoyen, Senior Director for Transport and ICT, World Bank Group

Muhtar Kent, Chairman of the Board of Directors, The Coca-Cola Company

Dr. Young Tae Kim, Secretary-General, International Transport Forum (ITF)

General Victor Kiryanov, President, Russian Automobile Federation

Patrick Pouyanné, Chairman of the Board and CEO, Total

Rémy Rioux, CEO, French Development Agency (AFD)

Lord George Robertson, Chairman, FIA Foundation

Mark R. Rosekind, Chief Safety Innovation Officer, Zoox

Prof. Gérard Saillant, President, Brain & Spine Institute (ICM)

Jean-Dominique Senard, CEO, Michelin

Li Shufu, Chairman, Geely & Volvo Cars

Carlos Slim Domit, Chairman of the Board, Grupo Carso

Sir Martin Sorrell, Founder and Former CEO, WPP

Elhadj As Sy, Secretary General, International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Socities (IFRC)

Ratan Tata, Chairman, Tata Trusts

Inge Thulin, (3M new representative to be appointed)