International Court of Appeal | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

International Court of Appeal


International Court of Appeal

The International Court of Appeal is the final appeal tribunal for international motor sport. Established under the FIA Statutes and the FIA’s International Sporting Code it resolves disputes brought before it by any of motor sport’s National Sporting Authorities world-wide, or by the President of the FIA. It can also settle non-sporting disputes brought by national motoring organizations affiliated to the FIA. 

In accordance with good governance principles, the International Court of Appeal (ICA) is an independent body with its own administration detached from the main structure of the FIA 

There are 36 judges to serve on the FIA Jurisdictions, all elected by the FIA General Assembly after being selected by the FIA Nominations Committee upon nomination by the FIA members, FIA commissions or groups of 5 competitors in the FIA championships.

Courts membership list for 2022

A full membership list of the Courts is available to download in PDF format here:


Biographies of the judges elected are available to download in PDF format here:

FIA Judicial and Disciplinary Rules  

To view the Judicial and Disciplinary Rules of the FIA (clean), please click 

Practice Directions

The Secretariat of the International Court of Appeal has published a set of "Practice Directions" to assist parties and their legal representatives in cases before the ICA and to answer a number of commonly arising questions. It is strongly recommended that all participants in cases before the Court should study these in advance of making written submissions or attending hearings. These Practice Directions were updated to take account of the new rules in force since 1st January 2011.

To view the Practice Directions, please click 

 (application from 1 January 2021).