This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

WMSC decisions on Autocross

Autocross: At its meeting on 2 December, held in Paris, the World Motor Sport Council took several decisions in relation to the proposals submitted by the FIA Off-Road and Safety Commissions

The World Motor Sport Council discussed several proposals related to Autocross that were submitted by both the FIA Off-Road and Safety Commissions. 

At the sporting level, the number of laps for FIA European Autocross Championship events was harmonised. Regardless of the circuit length (which only differs by 230m among the circuits picked for the 2016 European Championship season), five laps will need to be completed during qualifying heats, and six and seven laps will need to be completed during Semi-Finals and Finals, respectively.

The World Motor Sport Council also approved the Off-Road Commission’s proposal to have rear-facing cameras installed on-board all competitors’ cars. Competitors will be required to provide the footage to stewards, if needed, so that the officials can use it as an additional source of information in the event of an incident during a race.

At the technical level and for safety reasons, a decision was taken to make it mandatory, as of 2016, to install an FIA homologated seat (FIA standard 8855/1999 or FIA standard 8862/2009) in cars participating in the SuperBuggy, Buggy1600 and JuniorBuggy categories. Driver safety will be improved due not only to the quality of the seats but also better compatibility between the seat and the harness. 

This measure is coupled with a strong recommendation for 2016 and mandate for 2017 that all drivers in the three Buggy categories wear FIA-approved helmets and a Frontal Head Restrain (FHR). Autocross drivers will no longer be authorised to wear motocross helmets (which are not meant to be worn with an FHR) as of 2017.

The World Motor Sport Council approved the 2016 FIA European Autocross Championship calendar. It is almost identical to 2015, with two exceptions. The Final will be held on the Saint Igny de Vers circuit, not the Maggiora one in Italy, which will instead be the second to last Championship round. Also, a new stage in Vilkyciai, Lithuania has been added to the European tour.

Here is the 2016 calendar:

27-29/05              Seelow (DEU)

03-05/06              Vilkyciai (LTU)

24-26/06              Matschenberg (DEU)

01-03/07              Nova Paka (CZE)

22-24/07              St Georges de Montaigu (FRA)

12-14/08              Prerov (CZE)

19-21/08              Nyirad (HUN)

09-11/09              Maggiora (ITA)

16-18/09              St Igny de Vers (FRA)