Latvala wins for the Finns

FIA news bulletin from the 2014 Neste Oil Rally Finland
Local heroes Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila restored Finnish honours on their home round of the FIA World Rally Championship by taking victory in Neste Oil Rally Finland. After a nail-biting battle that went down to the final stage, the Volkswagen Motorsport crew racked up a win for the Finns on home soil for the first time since 2010. Team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia fought to the end and ultimately finished just 3.7 seconds adrift. Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle equalled their best result of the season by claiming third in the Citroën DS3 WRC.
Today’s route was by far the shortest, covering just 36.60 competitive kilometres over three stages, culminating in the Power Stage. After his brake problems of yesterday, Latvala started the day with a slim 3.4 second advantage. He won the first stage and while Ogier took honours in the final two stages - including maximum points for the Power Stage win - Latvala’s determination to claim his third win of the season, and most importantly the home victory, remained steadfast. An utterly dominant performance, in which he led from start to finish, rewarded him with his 11th world rally victory and the honour of flying the flag for Finland. Meeke has put in a fine performance, consistently mixing times with the Volkswagen drivers, to claim his third podium this year.
In the FIA World Rally Championship, Volkswagen drivers continue to control the leaderboard with Ogier, Latvala and Andreas Mikkelsen topping the table. The German marque also heads the Manufacturers’ Championship with a commanding 175 point lead over the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team going into their home round later this month.
Behind the leading trio, Mikkelsen finished a comfortable fourth ahead of Mikko Hirvonen. Juho Hänninen and Elfyn Evans moved two places up the leaderboard when Hayden Paddon was slowed by power steering problems. He ultimately finished eighth after an impressive performance. Craig Breen was the only leading retirement today, the Irish driver forced to withdraw after hurting his back on one of the notorious jumps.
The ninth round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders to Germany for the first true tarmac round of the series, ADAC Rallye Deutschland (21-24 August).
Neste Oil Rally Finland – Final Unofficial Results (subject to scrutineering)

1.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila

  Volkswagen Polo R WRC

  2hr 57min 23.2sec

2.   Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia

  Volkswagen Polo R WRC

  2hr 57min 26.8sec

3.   Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle

  Citroën DS3 WRC

  2hr 58min 13.8sec

4.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Floene

  Volkswagen Polo R WRC

  2hr 59min 15.7sec

5.   Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen

  Ford Fiesta RS WRC

  3hr 00min 12.9sec

7.   Juho Hänninen/Tomi Tuominen

  Hyundai i20 WRC

  3hr 01min 52.2sec

8.   Elfyn Evans/Daniel Barritt

  Ford Fiesta RS WRC

  3hr 02min 49.0sec

6.   Hayden Paddon/John Kennard

  Hyundai i20 WRC

  3hr 03min 41.0sec

9.   Henning Solberg/Ilka Minor

  Ford Fiesta RS WRC

  3hr 09min 30.2sec

10. Karl Kruuda/Martin Jarveoja

  Ford Fiesta S2000

  3hr 12min 07.9sec


FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 8 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)

187 points

Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)

143 points

Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)

95 points

Mads Østberg (NOR)

66 points

Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)

62 points

Kris Meeke (GBR)

54 points

Thierry Neuville (BEL)

46 points

Elfyn Evans (GBR)

42 points

Martin Prokop (CZE)

31 points

Henning Solberg (NOR)

26 points

Juho Hänninen (FIN)

20 points

Bryan Bouffier (FRA)

18 points

Robert Kubica (POL)

12 points

Ott Tanak (EST)

10 points

Benito Guerra (MEX)

8 points

Hayden Paddon (NZL)

8 points

Chris Atkinson (AUS)

6 points

Pontus Tidemand (SWE)

4 points

Jaroslav Melicharek (SVK)

4 points

Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)

3 points

Lorenzo Bertelli (ITA)

2 points

Matteo Gamba (ITA)

2 points

Craig Breen (IRL)

2 points

Yuriy Protasov (UKR)

2 points

Jari Ketomaa (FIN)

1 point

Karl Kruuda (EST)

1 point

Khalid Al Qassimi (ARE)

1 point


FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 8 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport

305 points

Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team

130 points

M-Sport World Rally Team

106 points

Volkswagen Motorsport II

94 points

Hyundai Motorsport

88 points

Jipocar Czech National Team

34 points

RK M-Sport World Rally Team

21 points

Hyundai Motorsport N

12 points