F3 – Famous Macau Grand Prix winners


2023 FIA Formula 3 World Cup

The Macau Grand Prix, which goes to the winner of the Formula 3 event for the 38th time next weekend, boasts an illustrious list of former victors. Ahead of the FIA Formula 3 World Cup from November 16-19, here’s a quick reminder of just some of the drivers to triumph on the Guia Circuit.

1983: Ayrton Senna
Having clinched the British F3 crown in 1983, the late Ayrton Senna became the first winner of the Macau Grand Prix for Formula 3 cars, beating Robert Guerrero and Gerhard Berger to top honours. The Brazilian would start his home grand prix – his debut in the FIA Formula One World Championship – four months and five days later.

1990: Michael Schumacher
Polesitter Mika Häkkinen was heading for Macau glory on aggregate time having won the first leg in 1990. That was until a final lap collision with Michael Schumacher (pictured above) let in the German to take first place with Mika Salo and Eddie Irvine second and third respectively. When Schumacher was injured racing in the 1999 British Grand Prix, Salo was recruited as his Ferrari replacement alongside team-mate Irvine.

1991: David Coulthard
Scottish driver David Coulthard (below) made up for missing out on the British F3 title to Rubens Barrichello in 1991 by triumphing in Macau ahead of a field consisting of, amongst others, Barrichello, Luca Badoer and Christian Fittipaldi, who also graduated to Formula One.

1995: Ralf Schumacher
Michael Schumacher’s young brother Ralf Schumacher, who won six times in Formula One in a grand prix career spanning a decade, was the 1995 Macau winner ahead of Kelvin Burt and Jan Magnussen.

2001: Takuma Sato
The first Japanese to win the Macau Grand Prix, Takuma Sato started 90 Formula One races. His opposition during his triumphant Macau bid included Heikki Kovalainen and Anthony Davidson.

2005: Lucas di Grassi
Lucas di Grassi, the 2016-17 FIA Formula E champion who also raced in Formula One, topped a Macau podium consisting of Robert Kubica and Sebastian Vettel.

2012 and 2016: António Felíx da Costa
A title winner in the FIA World Endurance Championship and FIA Formula E, António Felíx da Costa beat the likes of Carlos Sainz Jr and Pascal Wehrlein to claim victory in Macau in 2012. The Portuguese driver’s rivals for his second win in 2016 included Lando Norris and George Russell.

Archive photos: GCS