ETCR: CUPRA reigns at home soil in Jarama | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

ETCR: CUPRA reigns at home soil in Jarama


CUPRA EKS driver Mattias Ekström was crowned King of the Weekend in a thrilling third round of the 2022 FIA ETCR eTouring Car World Cup for Race SP at Circuito Madrid Jarama-RACE at an event of extreme heat, bracing winds and electrifying action.

Ekström stood on the top step as King, flanked by team-mates Adrien Tambay and Jordi Gené in a dream weekend for the Spanish manufacturer, with the narrative playing out in front of CUPRA CEO President and CEO, Wayne Griffiths and guests at their home event.

Whilst Ekström won the Pool FURIOUS DHL Super Final, the Pool FAST one went to hitherto points leader and Budapest King of the Weekend, Tambay. For Gené, it was a return to form at a track he knows so well, with the Spaniard setting the weekend’s fastest race lap and winning his Quarter Final.

Elsewhere it was another strong weekend for Romeo Ferraris’ Maxime Martin with a Quarter Final win adding to make him the best-scoring non-CUPRA driver. Hyundai Motorsport N’s Mikel Azcona finished the weekend the fifth highest scorer, with team-mate Norbert Michelisz taking sixth spot with a Quarter Final win to his name. Hyundai Motorsport could also celebrate a Semi Final win for Nicky Catsburg on his FIA ETCR debut, marking him as one to watch for the rest of the season.

For Romeo Ferraris Bruno Spengler took a Semi Final win, whilst Tambay took his Semi win and Ekström his Quarter and Semi Final top steps.

FIA ETCR Race SP ran as the headline act in the all-electric Jarama Next Generation Festival which showcased the all-electric single-seater ERA series, e-cars, e-scooters, e-bikes and a multitude of other activities designed to show family audiences the future of mobility, motor racing and sports motorcycling.

Points after Round 3:
1. Mattias Ekström 280
2. Adrien Tambay 274
3. Mikel Azcona 203
4. Maxime Martin 200
5. Bruno Spengler 182
6. Tom Blomqvist 180
7. Jordi Gené 140
8. Norbert Michelisz 137
9. Giovanni Venturini 115
10. Jean-Karl Vernay 111