This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

ERT – Entry closes soon with two weeks to the FIA European Rally Trophy Final


The countdown to the final of the 2020 FIA European Rally Trophy on November 5-7 has begun. For the top ERT drivers qualified in their zone, it’s time to enter for the final showdown.

2019 Lausitz Rallye

Europe’s most talented rally crews from four regional championships will gather in Saxony in Eastern Germany to go head-to-head during the Lausitz Rallye to find out who will be crowned the best of the best.

The FIA European Rally Trophy (ERT) usually gives rally crews across Europe the chance to qualify in seven regional series - the Alps, Balkan, Baltic, Benelux, Celtic, Central and Iberian Rally Trophy - with the top 10 from each region eligible to fight for the top honours at the Trophy’s Final. It’s a real opportunity for the competitors to discover new horizons, face new rivals and compete against new stages, in the true spirit of the sport.

This year however, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, only four of the regional series could run. In total nine regional rallies have been held in seven countries across the Balkan, Baltic, Central and Iberian zones, with crews competing in three different classes - ERT, ERT2, and ERT Junior for competitors under 26.

The list of 32 candidates for the ERT title features some of Europe’s most successful drivers – Craig Breen (IRL), Nicolay Gryazin (RUS), Alexey Lukyanuk (RUS), Mads Østberg (NOR) or Oliver Solberg (SWE), just to name a few, with strong competition also awaited in the ERT2 and ERT Junior categories. Participants entered in this weekend’s Rally Princesa de Asturias in Spain will be the last ones to qualify for the Iberian region.

The ERT’s grand finale at Lausitz Rallye gets underway on Thursday November 5 with reconnaissance over two days. Scrutineering and admin checks take place on Friday November 6, with the start of the rally’s first leg in the afternoon. The gravel event concludes after twelve special stages on Saturday November 7.

Last year, Czech Republic’s Ondřej Bisaha and Petr Těšínský grabbed the ERT win at the final on Switzerland’s Rallye International du Valais in their Hyundai i20 R5, finishing off a thrilling season in style. The Swiss Aurélien Devanthéry/Michaël Volluz and Jonathan Michellod, navigated by Stéphane Fellay, claimed the FIA ERT 3 and FIA ERT Junior laurels respectively.

For more information on the 2020 European Rally Trophy, CLICK HERE, and visit the Lausitz Rallye website for details on the event. The entry list for the European Rally Trophy final will be unveiled soon.

Photo credit: Patrick Freiberg,, 2019 Lausitz Rally.