This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

2019 FIA GT World Cup Entries Open

  • fr
  • es

Entries for the 2019 FIA GT World Cup have opened, meaning that motor sport’s best GT drivers will again battle for glory on the streets of Macau.

The event for GT3-spec cars will take place from 14th – 17th November, sharing the bill with the FIA F3 World Cup and the penultimate round of the FIA World Touring Car Cup.

The event format remains unchanged, with two 30-minute practice sessions followed by qualifying of the same length and racing split into a 12-lap (or 60-minute) Qualifying Race and an 18-lap (or 75-minute) Main Race, which will determine the FIA GT World Cup winner.

Drivers have competed on the iconic 6.2-kilometre (3.8-mile) Guia Circuit since 1954 in a variety of machinery, but it was only in 2015 when GT specialists battled there for the FIA GT World Cup for the first time.

Despite its short history, this event has already produced many memorable stories, with Laurens Vanthoor winning despite ending up on his roof in 2016. The following year, Edoardo Mortara came out on top in a battle that featured the top three crossing the line covered by just 1.5s.

This year, an eclectic mix of GT cars is expected to hit the track in Macau once again. No driver has ever been able to successfully defend their title the following season and this trend will continue as 2018 FIA GT World Cup winner Augusto Farfus Jr. will not be eligible to race due to already being committed to the FIA World Touring Car Cup event.

In related news, following the launch of the new FIA Formula 3 Championship, which supports the FIA Formula 1 World Championship on its European rounds, the FIA and the Automobile General Association Macau-China (AAMC) recently confirmed that the same Dallara F3 2019 will be used for the stand-alone FIA F3 World Cup in Macau, replacing the older Dallara F317 that had been in use for the previous two years.

Entries for the FIA GT World Cup will be accepted until 31st August. Further details can be found on the FIA website at the following link.