2014 Rally de Portugal - Day Three

FIA news bulletin from day 3 of the 2014 Rally de Portugal
(03-06 APRIL 2014)


The Volkswagen Motorsport crew of Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia claimed their third victory of the 2014 FIA World Rally Championship season today. The French reigning World Champions won Rally de Portugal by 43.2 seconds to take their 19th career win and Volkswagen’s eighth consecutive victory. The Ford Fiesta RS WRC crew of Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen finished second and Mads Østberg and Jonas Andersson took the final podium position for Citroën. 
In the Championship standings, Ogier extends his advantage to 29 points over team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala, while Østberg and Hirvonen hold third and fourth respectively. In the FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers, Volkswagen Motorsport takes a commanding 69 point lead over the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team. 
Today’s route was the shortest and covered just three stages and 43.87 competitive kilometres. The second run through the 13.83 kilometre Loulé stage counted as the Power Stage and here Ogier, Latvala and Østberg added to their tally with additional bonus points.
Ogier was able to control the pace today and cruised to his 12th victory with the Volkswagen team and fourth in Portugal. The gap between Hirvonen and Østberg also left little to fight for with too few kilometres, although Østberg claimed the win in the middle stage. Dani Sordo, who started the morning in fourth position, was forced into a heart-breaking retirement on the road section to the first stage, the Spaniard out with a broken front left driveshaft. Andreas Mikkelsen claimed fourth, overhauling Henning Solberg during the day. Martin Prokop finished sixth and Thierry Neuville managed to climb back to seventh, despite only having rear-wheel drive in the final stage. His team-mate Juho Hänninen finished just behind in eighth and WRC 2 Championship competitors Nasser Al-Attiyah and Jari Ketomaa took the final positions in the top 10.
The fifth round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders to South America for Rally Argentina (8-11 May).
Vodafone Rally de Portugal – Final Unofficial Results (subject to scrutineering)
1. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
2. Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
3. Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
4. Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula
5. Henning Solberg/Ilka Minor
6. Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek
7. Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
8. Juho Hänninen/Tomi Tuominen
9. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Giovanni Bernacchini
10. Jari Ketomaa/Kaj Lindstrom
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Hyundai i20 WRC
Hyundai i20 WRC
Ford Fiesta RRC
Ford Fiesta R5
3hr 33min 20.4sec
3hr 34min 03.6sec
3hr 34min 32.8sec
3hr 38min 10.9sec
3hr 38min 30.6sec
3hr 41min 47.6sec
3hr 41min 52.7sec
3hr 42min 12.0sec
3hr 43min 35.1sec
3hr 43min 46.7sec

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 4 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)
Mads Østberg (NOR)
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)
Thierry Neuville (BEL)
Elfyn Evans (GBR)
Bryan Bouffier (FRA)
Martin Prokop (CZE)
Kris Meeke (GBR)
Henning Solberg (NOR)
Ott Tanak (EST)
Benito Guerra (MEX)
Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Pontus Tidemand (SWE)
Juho Hänninen (FIN)
Jaroslav Melicharek (SVK)
Matteo Gamba (ITA)
Craig Breen (IRL)
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)
Yuriy Protasov (UKR)
Jari Ketomaa (FIN)
91 points
62 points
48 points
36 points
36 points
21 points
20 points
18 points
18 points
17 points
16 points
10 points
8 points
6 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
2 points
2 points
2 points
2 points
1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 4 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport
Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
M-Sport World Rally Team
Hyundai Motorsport
Volkswagen Motorsport II
Jipocar Czech National Team
RK M-Sport World Rally Team
144 points
75 points
60 points
45 points
40 points
20 points
4 points