2014 Rally Argentina - Day Three

FIA news bulletin from day 3 of the 2014 Rally Argentina
(08-11 MAY 2014)


Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila claimed their second victory of the 2014 FIA World Rally Championship season at Rally Argentina today. The Finns were dominant throughout and beat team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia by one minute 26.9 seconds at the end of three long days of competition. Third place was taken by Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle in their debut World Championship outing on Rally Argentina.
In the FIA World Rally Championship, Ogier tops the leaderboard, 24 points ahead of Latvala. Andreas Mikkelsen and Mads Østberg are equal on 48 points behind the two Volkswagen crews who have now collectively won nine consecutive WRC events. In the Manufacturers’ Championship, the German marque takes a commanding advantage and is 97 points ahead of nearest rivals, the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team.
Today’s route covered four stages, without service, and took the crews to the famous Mina Clavero and El Condor stages to the southwest of Cordoba. Conditions were treacherous with deep mud, patchy fog and rain ensuring the final day of competition was no easy ride to the finish. The second running of El Condor counted as the Power Stage, where Ogier, Mikko Hirvonen and Latvala collected the extra points respectively for being fastest through this single stage.
Behind the leading trio, Mikkelsen recovered from an early retirement in the event to take fourth position, but an alternator warning light after the final stage meant the Norwegian had an anxious drive to the finish. Thierry Neuville piloted the sole surviving Hyundai to fifth position in the team’s first visit to South America with the i20 WRC. The Belgian was forced to drive slowly in the final stage, however, having broken something in the transmission. Having adopted a different approach to this rally, Robert Kubica reaped the reward of sixth position and his first points of the season. He headed Elfyn Evans, who similarly drove a measured and safe rally to reach the finish in his first Rally Argentina. Martin Prokop finished eighth and Mikko Hirvonen climbed to ninth, having won three of today’s stages. Qatar’s Nasser Al-Attiyah claimed the final point-scoring position and also won the FIA WRC 2 Championship category for the second consecutive event.
The sixth round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders back to Europe and the Mediterranean island of Sardinia for Rally Italia Sardegna (5-8 June).
Rally Argentina – Final Unofficial Results (subject to scrutineering)
1.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
2.   Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
3.   Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle
4.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula
5.   Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
6.   Robert Kubica/Maciej Szczepaniak
7.   Elfyn Evans/Daniel Barritt
8.   Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek
9.   Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
10. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Giovanni Bernacchini
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Hyundai i20 WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RRC
4hr 41min 24.8sec
4hr 42min 51.7sec
4hr 47min 19.5sec
4hr 47min 43.1sec
4hr 49min 50.6sec
4hr 51min 32.8sec
4hr 51min 57.0sec
4hr 53min 28.7sec
5hr 01min 19.6sec
5hr 04min 35.0sec

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 5 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)
Mads Østberg (NOR)
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)
Kris Meeke (GBR)
Thierry Neuville (BEL)
Elfyn Evans (GBR)
Martin Prokop (CZE)
Bryan Bouffier (FRA)
Henning Solberg (NOR)
Ott Tanak (EST)
Robert Kubica (POL)
Benito Guerra (MEX)
Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Pontus Tidemand (SWE)
Juho Hänninen (FIN)
Jaroslav Melicharek (SVK)
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)s
Matteo Gamba (ITA)
Craig Breen (IRL)
Yuriy Protasov (UKR)
Jari Ketomaa (FIN)
112 points
88 points
48 points
48 points
40 points
32 points
31 points
26 points
22 points
18 points
16 points
10 points
8 points
8 points
6 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
3 points
2 points
2 points
2 points
1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 5 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport
Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
M-Sport World Rally Team
Hyundai Motorsport
Volkswagen Motorsport II
Jipocar Czech National Team
RK M-Sport World Rally Team
187 points
90 points
68 points
55 points
52 points
24 points
12 points