2013 Rally Finland - Day Three

FIA news bulletin from day 3 of the 2013 Rally Finland
(31 JULY – 03 AUGUST 2013)


The Volkswagen Motorsport crew of Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia claimed victory in Rally Finland today, the eighth round of the FIA World Rally Championship. A delighted Ogier, who joins an elite group of non-Nordic drivers to win this highly-specialised event, finished 36.6 seconds ahead to move one step closer to claiming his first World title. The battle for second position raged throughout the day but ultimately Thierry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul claimed the position by 21 seconds over Mads Østberg and Jonas Andersson, who were forced to go off the road to avoid a rock in the penultimate stage.
The final day of competition was another long one, taking in two identical loops of four stages covering 130.20 competitive kilometres. The event concluded with the ‘Painaa’ Power Stage where additional Championship points are awarded to the fastest three crews through this single stage. Here, Neuville, Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvala picked up the additional three, two and one point respectively.
In the FIA World Rally Championship, Ogier’s fifth victory of the season sees him extend his advantage to 90 points over team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala. Neuville is on equal points with the Finn. In the Manufacturers’ Championship, Volkswagen Motorsport has a 55 point advantage over the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team. The Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team is third.
Ogier was in the enviable position of not have to push to the limit over today’s closing stages, but the Frenchman won three of the stages to claim an unchallenged win. Behind him, however, Neuville and Østberg were fighting hard for second, the duo trading positions and fastest stage times throughout the day with just a handful of seconds separating them. In the penultimate stage, however, while leading, Østberg had to take evasive action to avoid a massive rock in the road, forcing him off the road and into a spin. The resultant time loss saw him drop to third. It was an impressive performance from both rivals during an event where there were four different leaders and the lead changed hands no fewer than eight times.
Behind the podium finishers, Mikko Hirvonen claimed fourth on his home event. The Finn ran without problems during the day, with the exception of a near roll on stage 21, but he had a comfortable lead over team-mate Dani Sordo, who finished fifth. Evgeny Novikov climbed the leaderboard into sixth and local driver Jari Ketomaa finished seventh and also won the FIA WRC 2 Championship category. Per-Gunnar Andersson managed to elevate himself into a points-scoring position, finishing eighth after a troubled rally, and former Formula One driver Robert Kubica claimed more WRC points for finishing ninth and second in WRC 2. Volkswagen’s third driver, Andreas Mikkelsen, finished 10th. The leading retirements of the day were Kris Meeke and Jarkko Nikara. The Northern Ireland driver rolled in stage 22 after an impressive performance in his first competitive outing in nearly 18 months, and Nikara retired from sixth position with broken suspension.
The next round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the crews to the roman city of Trier for ADAC Rallye Deutschland (22-25 August).
Rally Finland – Final Unofficial Classification (subject to scrutineering)
1.   Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
2.   Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
3.   Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
4.   Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
5.   Dani Sordo/Carlos Del Barrio
6.   Evgeny Novikov/Ilka Minor
7.   Jari Ketomaa/Marko Sallinen
8.   Per-Gunnar Andersson/Emil Axelsson
9.   Robert Kubica/Maciek Baran
10. Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta R5
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 RRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
2 hr 43 min 10.4sec
2 hr 43 min 47.0sec
2 hr 44 min 08.0sec
2 hr 44 min 32.0sec
2 hr 49 min 18.9sec
2 hr 51 min 50.1sec
2 hr 54 min 29.6sec
2 hr 54 min 51.9sec
2 hr 55 min 58.5sec
2 hr 56 min 52.4sec

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 8 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)
Thierry Neuville (BEL)
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)
Dani Sordo (ESP)
Sébastien Loeb (FRA)
Mads Østberg (NOR)
Evgeny Novikov (RUS)
Martin Prokop (CZE)
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)
Bryan Bouffier (FRA)
Elfyn Evans (GBR)
Juho Hänninen (FIN)
Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Michal Kosciuszko (POL)
Ken Block (USA)
Jari Ketomaa (FIN)
Sepp Weigand (DEU)
Per-Gunnar Andersson (SWE)
Henning Solberg (NOR)
Benito Guerra (MEX)
Robert Kubica (POL)
Khalid Al Qassimi (ARE)
Olivier Burri (CHE)
Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU)
Esapekka Lappi (FIN)
181 points
91 points
91 points
73 points
69 points
68 points
65 points
39 points
37 points
30 points
26 points
10 points
8 points
8 points
8 points
7 points
6 points
6 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
3 points
2 points
1 point
1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 8 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport
Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team
Qatar World Rally Team
Jipocar Czech National Team
Abu Dhabi Citroën Total World Rally Team
Volkswagen Motorsport II
Lotos WRC Team
251 points
196 points
112 points
107 points
39 points
33 points
26 points
20 points