2013 Rally de Portugal - Day 3

FIA News Bulletin from Day 3 of the 2013 Rally de Portugal

(11-14 APRIL 2013)


Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia claimed an impressive third consecutive victory for Volkswagen Motorsport in the FIA World Rally Championship when they won Rally de Portugal this afternoon. Team-mates Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila were on course for second but a transmission problem dropped them back to third behind Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen.
In the FIA World Rally Championship, Ogier extends his advantage and holds a commanding lead in the Drivers’ Championship. Hirvonen moves into second, ahead of team-mate Sébastien Loeb. In the Manufacturers’ Championship, Volkswagen Motorsport heads the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team, the rivals split by 14 points.
The final day of competition took in two identical loops of two stages but included the 52.30 kilometre Almodovar stage, which also ran as the closing Power Stage in which additional points are awarded to the fastest three drivers through this single stage. Here, Ogier claimed three extra points while Mads Østberg and Latvala picked up an additional two and one point respectively.
The day kicked off with drama for the Volkswagen crews, Ogier suffering with a slipping clutch and Latvala with a broken front diff. While Ogier fared better, Latvala lost over a minute and dropped behind a chasing Hirvonen. Further woes continued in the following long stage, where Latvala lost another three minutes as he limped through the stage in two-wheel drive. After repairs in service however, both crews powered back up to speed and claimed Volkswagen’s first double podium. Citroën’s Mikko Hirvonen claimed second, taking valuable points for the team after Sordo’s accident yesterday. Evgeny Novikov finished fourth with a comfortable cushion to Nasser Al-Attiyah. Andreas Mikkelsen ran well in his first competitive outing in the Polo R WRC and finished sixth. Mads Østberg won three of the day’s stages and eventually climbed to eighth after his day one roll.
The fifth round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders to South America for Rally Argentina (1-4 May).
Rally de Portugal – Final Unofficial Classification (subject to scrutineering)
1.   Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
2.   Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
3.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
4.   Evgeny Novikov/Ilka Minor
5.   Nasser Al-Attiyah/Giovanni Bernacchini
6.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula
7.   Martin Prokop/Michal Ernst
8.   Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
9.   Khalid Al Qassimi/Scott Martin
10. Esapekka Lappi/Janne Ferm
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Skoda Fabia S2000
4 hr 07 min 38.7sec
4 hr 08 min 36.9sec
4 hr 11 min 43.2sec
4 hr 13 min 06.4sec
4 hr 15 min 22.2sec
4 hr 17 min 18.5sec
4 hr 22 min 42.9sec
4 hr 23 min 22.3sec
4 hr 23 min 35.6sec
4 hr 23 min 59.7sec

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 4 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)
Sébastien Loeb (FRA)
Mads Østberg (NOR)
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)
Dani Sordo (ESP)
Thierry Neuville (BEL)
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)
Martin Prokop (CZE)
Evgeny Novikov (RUS)
Bryan Bouffier (FRA)
Juho Hanninen (FIN)
Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)
Ken Block (USA)
Sepp Weigand (DEU)
Henning Solberg (NOR)
Benito Guerra (MEX)
Olivier Burri (CHE)
Khalid Al Qassimi (ARE)
Michal Kosciuszko (POL)
Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU)
Esapekka Lappi (FIN)
102 points
48 points
43 points
32 points
31 points
27 points
25 points
20 points
20 points
15 points
10 points
8 points
8 points
8 points
6 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
2 points
2 points
1 point
1 point
1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 4 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport
Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team
Qatar World Rally Team
Abu Dhabi Citroën Total World Rally Team
Jipocar Czech National Team
Lotos WRC Team
Volkswagen Motorsport II
121 points
107 points
55 points
36 points
27 points
22 points
12 points
10 points