2013 Rally Australia - Day 3

FIA news bulletin from day 3
(12 – 15 SEPTEMBER 2013)


The Volkswagen Motorsport crew of Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia came within moments of sealing the FIA World Rally Championship title in Australia today, denied the crown as Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul climbed into second position in the final stage when Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen had a puncture and dropped to third, providing one of the most thrilling finishes this season.
In the FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers, Ogier has missed claiming the title by just one point, setting the scene for an epic battle on the next round in France when fellow countryman and reigning World Champion Sébastien Loeb will be back in the seat of the Citroën DS3 WRC. The fight for the FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers also continues but Volkswagen Motorsport has increased its lead over the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team following the retirement of Kris Meeke after the final stage this afternoon.
Today’s competition took in two identical loops of three stages covering 125.14 competitive kilometres, the final run through ‘Shipmans’ counting as the Power Stage where additional Championship points are awarded to the fastest three drivers in this single stage. And it was here that the drama unfolded, and it was Neuville’s second position in the rally as well as the Power Stage that denied Ogier of his first world title. The Frenchman nevertheless claimed his 13th World Rally victory and sixth this season. Behind the dramatic turn of events in the final stage, fourth was claimed by Jari-Matti Latvala, the Finn also losing time with a puncture in the final stage, and fifth was taken by Mads Østberg, the Norwegian moving ahead of Andreas Mikkelsen in the first stage of the day. Evgeny Novikov finished seventh ahead of local hero Nathan Quinn. Kris Meeke, who rolled on Saturday, restarted this morning under Rally 2 regulations but damaged rear suspension in the final stage saw him ultimately unable to return to the finish in Coffs Harbour.
The 11th round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders back to Europe for Rallye de France Alsace (3-6 October). Here, nine-time World Rally Champions Sébastien Loeb and Daniel Elena will re-join the series for their final outing in the Championship.
Rally Australia – Final Unofficial Classification (subject to scrutineering)
1.   Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
2.   Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
3.   Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
4.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
5.   Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
6.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Paul Nagle
7.   Evgeny Novikov/Ilka Minor
8.   Nathan Quinn/Glenn MacNeall
9.   Khalid Al Qassimi/Scott Martin
10. Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari/Killian Duffy
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
MINI John Cooper Works WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Ford Fiesta RRC
3hr 19 min 55.0sec
3hr 21 min 27.1sec
3hr 21 min 57.1sec
3hr 22 min 52.4sec
3hr 23 min 12.2sec
3hr 23 min 32.6sec
3hr 27 min 26.2sec
3hr 33 min 05.2sec
3hr 35 min 12.6sec
3hr 37 min 22.7sec

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 10 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
Thierry Neuville (BEL)
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)
Dani Sordo (ESP)
Mads Østberg (NOR)
Sébastien Loeb (FRA)
Martin Prokop (CZE)
Evgeny Novikov (RUS)
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)
Elfyn Evans (GBR)
Robert Kubica (POL)
Bryan Bouffier (FRA)
Juho Hänninen (FIN)
Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Michal Kosciuszko (POL)
Ken Block (USA)
Jari Ketomaa (FIN)
Khalid Al Qassimi (ARE)
Hayden Paddon (NZL)
Sepp Weigand (DEU)
Per-Gunnar Andersson (SWE)
Henning Solberg (NOR)
Benito Guerra (MEX)
Nathan Quinn (AUS)
Olivier Burri (CHE)
Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari (QAT)
Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU)
Esapekka Lappi (FIN)
212 points
129 points
110 points
103 points
96 points
7 points
68 points
49 points
47 points
34 points
30 points
16 points
14 points
10 points
8 points
8 points
7 points
6 points
6 points
5 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
2 points
1 point
1 point
1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 10 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport
Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
Qatar World Rally Team
Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team
Jipocar Czech National Team
Abu Dhabi Citroën Total World Rally Team
Volkswagen Motorsport II
Lotos WRC Team
299 points
251 points
145 points
142 points
51 points
41 points
34 points
20 points