2013 Rally Argentina - Day 3

FIA News Bulletin from Day 3 of the 2013 Rally Argentina

(01-04 MAY 2013)


The Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team crew of Sébastien Loeb and Daniel Elena claimed their eighth consecutive Rally Argentina victory today. The nine-time World Champions finished South America’s round of the FIA World Rally Championship 55 seconds ahead of Volkswagen Motorsport’s Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia. After an intense fight to the finish line, Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila claimed the final podium position.
Today’s route took the crews to two of the most iconic stages in the Championship, Mina Clavero and El Condor, both covered twice and with the second pass over El Condor counting as the Power Stage. Here, Latvala, Ogier and Mikko Hirvonen claimed the additional points for being the fastest three drivers over this single stage.
In the FIA World Rally Championship, Ogier retains his lead with Loeb moving into second position ahead of team-mate Hirvonen. The Volkswagen Motorsport team also maintains its advantage in the Manufacturers’ Championship, with 14 points in hand to the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team.
Loeb - who hasn’t competed in the WRC since Rally Sweden in February and won’t be seen again until Rallye de France in October - played it safe today, such was his advantage over Ogier, his French rival also content to claim second being that semi-retired Loeb is not one of his main Championship rivals. However, behind the two Sébastiens, the battle for third position raged. Novikov started the day ahead but with Latvala taking three consecutive stages victories, he was overhauled in the penultimate stage of the rally. The Finn then went on to win the Power Stage and extended his advantage when Novikov spun in the stage.
The sixth round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders to Greece for the Acropolis Rally (30 May – 2 June).
Rally Argentina – Final Unofficial Classification (subject to scrutineering)
1.   Sébastien Loeb/Daniel Elena
2.   Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
3.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
4.   Evgeny Novikov/Ilka Minor
5.   Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
6.   Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
7.   Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
8.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula
9.   Dani Sordo/Carlos Del Barrio
10. Martin Prokop/Michal Ernst
Citroën DS3 WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
4 hr 35 min 56.7sec
4 hr 36 min 51.7sec
4 hr 37 min 57.5sec
4 hr 38 min 33.4sec
4 hr 40 min 37.2sec
4 hr 42 min 20.6sec
4 hr 46 min 58.9sec
4 hr 49 min 18.8sec
4 hr 49 min 19.0sec
4 hr 50 min 04.3sec

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 5 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
Sébastien Loeb (FRA)
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)
Mads Østberg (NOR)
Thierry Neuville (BEL)
Dani Sordo (ESP)
Evgeny Novikov (RUS)
Martin Prokop (CZE)
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)
Bryan Bouffier (FRA)
Juho Hanninen (FIN)
Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Ken Block (USA)
Sepp Weigand (DEU)
Henning Solberg (NOR)
Benito Guerra (MEX)
Olivier Burri (CHE)
Khalid Al Qassimi (ARE)
Michal Kosciuszko (POL)
Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU)
Esapekka Lappi (FIN)
122 points
68 points
57 points
49 points
38 points
35 points
29 points
27 points
21 points
20 points
12 points
10 points
8 points
8 points
6 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
2 points
2 points
1 point
1 point
1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 5 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport
Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team
Qatar World Rally Team
Abu Dhabi Citroën Total World Rally Team
Jipocar Czech National Team
Volkswagen Motorsport II
Lotos WRC Team
154 points
140 points
73 points
46 points
29 points
23 points
14 points
12 points