2013 ADAC Rallye Deutschland - Day 2

FIA news bulletin after day 2
(22 - 25 AUGUST 2013)


Volkswagen Motorsport driver Jari-Matti Latvala has taken the lead of Rallye Deutschland after the first full day of competition, following the retirement of Championship leader and team-mate Sébastien Ogier. At the top of the leaderboard the fight has been intense between Latvala and second-placed Thierry Neuville, while Dani Sordo is further adrift in third.
The second day of competition in the ninth round of the FIA World Rally Championship took the crews to the northwest of Trier for two identical loops of three stages. In total the route covered 131 competitive kilometres.
The drama kicked off early this morning when, in the opening stage, Ogier missed a braking point and went off the road. Damage to the front suspension meant the Frenchman had to limp through the remainder of the stage, dropping him over two and a half minutes. Latvala took the lead immediately, but it was arch rival Neuville who set the pace this morning, the Belgian winning each of the first three stages. Ogier managed to make temporary repairs to the suspension using ratchet straps but was forced to retire the car in the second stage for safety reasons.
This afternoon Latvala maintained his pace and won all but one of the repeated stages to pull out a slim 7.3 second overnight lead, both he and Neuville largely running without problems. Sordo, in third, is 26.3 seconds off the lead and team-mate Mikko Hirvonen is fourth another 21.3 seconds adrift. Mads Østberg ran wide this morning and broke a wheel rim in the first stage and has been uncharacteristically off the pace all day. He is now over two minutes off the lead in fifth overall. Martin Prokop is sixth with Nasser Al-Attiyah seventh. Former Formula One driver Robert Kubica leads the FIA WRC 2 Championship contenders and is eighth overall in his first tarmac WRC event.
Rallye Deutschland – Unofficial Results after Day 2
1.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
2.   Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
3.   Dani Sordo/Carlos Del Barrio
4.   Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
5.   Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
6.   Martin Prokop/Michal Ernst
7.   Nasser Al-Attiyah/G Bernacchini
8.   Robert Kubica/Maciek Baran
9.   Elfyn Evans/Daniel Barritt
10. Sepp Wiegand/Frank Christian
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 RRC
Ford Fiesta R5
Skoda Fabia S2000
1hr 38 min 04.1sec
1hr 38 min 11.4sec
1hr 38 min 30.4sec
1hr 38 min 51.7sec
1hr 40 min 16.4sec
1hr 42 min 21.7sec
1hr 42 min 56.2sec
1hr 43 min 03.6sec
1hr 43 min 16.0sec
1hr 44 min 57.8sec