2013 Acropolis Rally - Day 3

FIA News Bulletin from Day 3 of the 2013 Acropolis Rally.

(31 MAY - 02 JUNE 2013)


Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila claimed their maiden victory for the Volkswagen Motorsport team today, winning the Acropolis Rally by nearly two minutes. Dani Sordo and Carlos Del Barrio finished second – their best result of the season – and the final podium position was taken by Thierry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul who equalled their best WRC result to date.
In the FIA World Rally Championship, Sébastien Ogier retains his lead, despite finishing 10th overall. He is ahead of team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala and multiple World Champion, Sébastien Loeb. In the Manufacturers’ Championship, Volkswagen Motorsport continues to head the Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team.
The final day of the sixth round of the FIA World Rally Championship took in two identical loops of two stages, concluding with the 30.14 kilometre Power Stage in which additional Championship points are awarded to the fastest three drivers. Here, Ogier, Evgeny Novikov and Andreas Mikkelsen scooped the three, two and 1 points respectively.
While today’s route covered just 83.22 competitive kilometres, conditions were still tricky and crews continued to mix caution with speed to bring their cars to the finish. Latvala was able to ease his pace, such was his advantage, Sordo was determined not to take risks and Neuville continued his measured and mature drive to equal his third position in Rally Guanajuato Mexico. Behind the leading trio, Andreas Mikkelsen set the pace, winning three of the four stages to overhaul Nasser Al-Attiyah and claim fourth overall; his best WRC result.  Mads Østberg finished sixth after a difficult event and Martin Prokop and Mikko Hirvonen rounded off the top eight. 
Formula One star Robert Kubica finished 11th overall, behind Ogier, and won the FIA WRC 2 Championship category by nearly 90 seconds.
The seventh round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders to the Mediterranean island of Sardinia for Rally Italia (20-22 June).
Acropolis Rally – Final Unofficial Classification (subject to scrutineering)
1.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila
2.   Dani Sordo/Carlos Del Barrio
3.   Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul
4.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Mikko Markkula
5.   Nasser Al-Attiyah/Giovanni Bernacchini
6.   Mads Østberg/Jonas Andersson
7.   Martin Prokop/Michal Ernst
8.   Mikko Hirvonen/Jarmo Lehtinen
9.   Evgeny Novikov/Ilka Minor
10. Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia
Volkswagen Polo R WRC 
Citroën DS3 WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Citroën DS3 WRC
Ford Fiesta RS WRC
Volkswagen Polo R WRC
3 hr 31 min 01.2sec
3 hr 32 min 51.2sec
3 hr 33 min 15.3sec
3 hr 34 min 56.3sec
3 hr 35 min 13.8sec
3 hr 36 min 49.9sec
3 hr 38 min 23.6sec
3 hr 38 min 57.8sec
3 hr 39 min 13.0sec
3 hr 41 min 11.5sec

FIA World Rally Championship for Drivers (after 6 of 13 rounds)

Sébastien Ogier (FRA)
Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN)
Sébastien Loeb (FRA)
Mikko Hirvonen (FIN)
Thierry Neuville (BEL)
Dani Sordo (ESP)
Mads Østberg (NOR)
Evgeny Novikov (RUS)
Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT)
Martin Prokop (CZE)
Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)
Bryan Bouffier (FRA)
Juho Hanninen (FIN)
Chris Atkinson (AUS)
Ken Block (USA)
Sepp Weigand (DEU)
Henning Solberg (NOR)
Benito Guerra (MEX)
Olivier Burri (CHE)
Khalid Al Qassimi (ARE)
Michal Kosciuszko (POL)
Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU)
Esapekka Lappi (FIN)
126 points
74 points
68 points
61 points
50 points
47 points
46 points
31 points
30 points
27 points
25 points
0 points
8 points
8 points
6 points
4 points
4 points
4 points
2 points
2 points
1 point
1 point
1 point

FIA World Rally Championship for Manufacturers (after 6 of 13 rounds)

Volkswagen Motorsport
Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team
Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team
Qatar World Rally Team
Abu Dhabi Citroën Total World Rally Team
Jipocar Czech National Team
Volkswagen Motorsport II
Lotos WRC Team
180 points
162 points
83 points
71 points
29 points
29 points
26 points
12 points