This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

WTCC 2015 - Race of Germany Preview

Rounds 7&8 – Nürburgring Nordschleife, Nürburg

Ranked as the toughest circuit of them all, the legendary Nürburgring Nordschleife will host rounds seven and eight of the FIA World Touring Car Championship this week (14-16 May). Racing legends have tried since the 1920s to tame the challenging track, known as the Green Hell due to its Eifel Forest setting and unforgiving nature. Now it’s the turn of the WTCC drivers as the venue stages an FIA world championship motor race for the first time since 1983. Back then gifted German Stefan Bellof, driving a Porsche 956, lapped the 20.81-kilometre layout in a record-breaking 6m11.13s. However, with the addition of the grand prix circuit loop, the two WTCC races will consist of three laps of a 25.278-kilometre layout. Add in the prospect of unpredictable weather, frequent changes of track surface and climbs and descents and the Nürburgring Nordschleife event has all the ingredients to be a true test of car and driver. With wins in the opening three events of 2015, reigning WTCC champion José María López will one of the favourites. The Argentine, who is vying to follow in the footsteps of his great countryman Juan Manuel Fangio by winning at the ’Ring, underlined his victory credentials when he topped the pre-event test last month in 8m38.028s. Home fans will have a local hero to cheer with Sabine Schmitz taking on the WTCC regulars for the first time. Affectionately known as the Queen of the ’Ring due to her rapid performances at the track, Schmitz will be promoting the FIA Women in Motorsport initiative. WTCC promoter Eurosport Events is joining forces with German company WIGE to televise WTCC Race of Germany live around the world. And it’s a huge undertaking with a workforce of more than 100 people, 32 trackside cameras, eight onboard cameras each providing three different angles, cameras on the grid and in the pitlane, two helicopter-mounted Cineflex cameras and a repeater plane to transmit the camera signals all required.

Lap distance:     25.278km

Race distance:  2 x 3 laps / 75.834km

Location:           Otto-Flimm-Straße, 53520 Nürburg, Germany

Press officer:   Michael Kramp,, +49 221 95743484

Airports:           Cologne-Bonn, 97km


                Race 1                                                                 Race 2

2005    Andy Priaulx (BMW 320)                             Alex Zanardi (BMW 320)

2006    Andy Priaulx (BMW 320)                             Jörg Muller (BMW 320)

2007    Yvan Muller (SEAT León)                             Augusto Farfus (BMW 320)

2008      Augusto Farfus (BMW 320)                        Félix Porteiro (BMW 320)

2009     Andy Priaulx (BMW 320)                             Augusto Farfus (BMW 320)

2010      Alain Menu (Chevrolet Cruze)                   Andy Priaulx (BMW 320)

2011     Yvan Muller (Chevrolet Cruze)                  Franz Engstler (BMW 320)


19 June 1927 – The Nürburgring Nordschleife hosts its first car race - Rudolf Caracciola win in a 5000cc class in a Mercedes Compressor.

29 May 1983 – Jacky Ickx and Jochen Mass share the victorious Porsche 956 in the last FIA international motor race to take place on the Nürburgring Nordschleife.

28 August 2005 – Andy Priaulx and Alex Zanardi claim a win apiece as Germany begins a seven-year stretch on the WTCC calendar.



Wednesday 13 May

10.00 – 19.00:    Media accreditation open (Hotel Döttinger Höhe, B258)

10.00 – 19.00:    Media Centre open

16.45 – 18.30:    WTCC Drivers’ Parade/autograph session

Thursday 14 May

07.00 – 20.00:    Media accreditation open (Hotel Döttinger Höhe, B258)

07.00 – 01.00:    Media Centre open

11.30 – 12.30:    WTCC testing

17.30 – 18.30:    WTCC Happy Hour (WTCC VIP Club)

Friday 15 May

07.00 – 19.00:    Media accreditation open (Hotel Döttinger Höhe, B258)

07.00 – 22.00:    Media Centre open

08.15 – 09.15:    WTCC Free Practice 1

11.15 – 12.55:    WTCC Free Practice 2

18.20 – 19.20:    WTCC Qualifying

19.30 (est.):         Post-qualifying press conference (Media Centre)

Saturday 16 May

07.00 – 19.00:    Media accreditation open (Hotel Döttinger Höhe, B258)

07.00 – 24.00:    Media Centre open

08.05 – 08.35:    WTCC Warm-Up

11.15:                   WTCC Race 1 (3 laps)

12.15:                   WTCC Race 2 (3 laps)

13.00 (est.)          WTCC podium

13.15 (est.)          Post-race press conference (Media Centre)



Chairman of the Stewards:Yves Bacquelaine (BEL)
2nd International Steward:Zrinko Gregurek (HRV)
Race Director:Miroslav Bartos (CZE)
Assistant to the Race Director:Rui Marques (PRT)
Medical Delegate:Alain Chantegret (FRA)
Technical Delegate:Manuel Leal (ESP)
Press Delegate:Richard Rodgers (GBR)
Chief Timekeeper:Sébastien Mascret (FRA)
Incident Camera Delegate:Lionel Bérard (FRA)
Safety Car Driver:Bruno Correia (PRT)
FIA Coordinator:Olivier Steveny (BEL)


The provisional classification will be available here.