This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

World RX - Gronholm is TQ as Hansens clinch teams' title

  • fr
  • es

2019 World RX of South Africa - Q4 

GRX Taneco’s Niclas Gronholm beat the three 2019 FIA World Rallycross Championship title contenders in Q4 race 4 to set the quickest time and take the his second TQ (top qualifier) position of the season.

At the end of qualifying at the SABAT World RX of South Africa in Cape Town, Team Hansen MJP has been crowned as the World RX Teams’ Champions, ahead of the semi-finals and final, with only 2 points between Timmy Hansen and Andreas Bakkerud in the Drivers’ standings.

In Q4, Gronholm started from P4 on the grid in race 4 and went around the outside of Team Hansen MJP’s Timmy and Kevin Hansen, and Monster Energy RX Cartel’s Andreas Bakkerud at the first corner in the shadow of table mountain to take the race win. Bakkerud took his joker on lap one, then Timmy Hansen took his joker on lap 2, the two title leaders finishing P2 and P3 in Q4. Gronholm will take pole in semi-final 1 with Bakkerud alongside, as the Hansen brothers will start on the front row of semi-final 2.

GRX’s Timur Timerzyanov and Team STARD’s Janis Baumanis were P9 and P6 in Q4 and will take row two in semi-final 1, with EKS Sport’s Krisztian Szabo and GC Kompetition’s Anton Marklund on row three. Sweden’s Marklund didn’t get further than the start line in Q4 with a technical issue. Row two in semi-final 2 will be taken by ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport’s Timo Scheider and GCK’s Guerlain Chicherit, with GCK Academy’s Guillaume De Ridder and Xite Racing’s Oliver Bennett on row three.

Team STARD’s Jere Kalliokoski was disqualified from Q3 for a launch button infringement and is P14 at the end of qualifying, behind first reserve for the semi-finals, ESmotorsport LABAS-GAS’s Matvey Furazhkin.

View full results from SABAT World RX of South Africa here