Race Victories - Eleven Different Winners

Eleven different drivers shared race victories during the season. Only twice in the past did the WTCC provide a higher number of winners: twelve in 2005 (but that was the series’ first year) and fourteen in 2008.

Yvan Muller took the lion’s share with seven wins, which increased his tally to an impressive 37. And even more impressive, he has claimed 24 out of the 37 in the three latest seasons…

With two victories apiece, former world champions Rob Huff and Gabriele Tarquini reached 25 and 19 successes respectively; this meant that Huff moved to a solo second position leaving Alain Menu behind, while Tarquini climbed to fourth ahead of Andy Priaulx.

The Italian also remains the only driver who won at least one race in each of the championship’s nine seasons.

However, the most significant fact was that five drivers joined the WTCC winners’ club, something that had never happened before.

James Nash, Tom Chilton, Michel Nykjær, Pepe Oriola and José María López collected nine race wins altogether, and two of them have even marked new milestones for WTCC: at Marrakech, Oriola became the youngest ever winner of an FIA World Championship race at the age of 18 years and nine months, while winning his home race in Argentina, López became the first driver victorious on his maiden appearance in the FIA touring cars.