Race 1 : Muller cruises to victory

Yvan Muller took another of his famous lights to flag victories.

The 2013 World Champion took the lead from pole position and bid farewell to the rest of the field. 

Behind him Tiago Monteiro defended his second place keeping at bay Rob Huff, despite the Briton’s car was faster on the straight.
Norbert Michelisz finished fourth ahead of the bamboo-engineering duo of Alex MacDowall – who won the Yokohama Trophy race – and James Nash who clinched the Yokohama Trophy title.
On the last lap Marc Basseng won the fight with Pepe Oriola for seventh; Yukinori Taniguchi finished on top of the Asia Trophy beating Michael Soong.
Key moments
Grid – Tarquini doesn’t line up as the team is working to change his engine
Start – Muller takes the lead from Monteiro and Huff
Lap 1 – Thompson pits with a turbo pipe failure
Lap 2 – Chilton spins and hits the barriers before the Maternity bend
Lap 3 – Oriola spins at the Solitude Esses but avoids crashing
Lap 4 – Boardman overtakes Coronel for tenth
Lap 5 – Valente hits the tyre wall at Lisboa bend
Lap 6 – Oriola, Basseng and D’Aste have a close fight for seventh place
Lap 6 – Basseng knocks on Oriola’s real bumper at Melco hairpin
Lap 7 – Calko spins and hits the barrier at Mandarin bend
Lap 8 – Basseng overtakes Oriola for seventh
Lap 9 – Muller wins, Monteiro keeps Huff at bay for second