Masters congratulates its 2013 Champions

Masters Historic champions congratulated at the end of the 2013 season.

In its first year of operating championships on behalf of the FIA, Masters enjoyed healthy grids in both the FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship and the FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship.

The FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship provided two champions, with American Tyrrell enthusiast John Delane taking the Pre-1978 crown in a combination of Tyrrell 002 and Tyrrell 006. The post-1978 division went down to the last lap of the final race in Jerez and was eventually won by newcomer to Masters, Greg Thornton, who guided his ex-Nigel Mansell Lotus 92/5 to the title. 

The new FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship was won by Leo Voyazides and Simon Hadfield who shared the Greek driver’s Lola T70 Mk3B. Seven races were won by the duo in an emotional season after the death of Leo’s friend and car preparer Bruce Stevens. 


A full round-up of the final championship standings is as follows:

FIA Masters Historic Formula One – Pre-78 Championship

1)   John Delane (Tyrrell 002/006)

2)   James Hagan (Ensign MN177)

3)   Andrew Beaumont (Lotus 76/1)


FIA Masters Historic Formula One – Post-78 Championship

1)   Greg Thornton (Lotus 92/5)

2)   Ian Simmonds (Tyrrell 012)

3)   Simon Fish (Ensign MN180)


FIA Masters Historic Sports Cars

1)   Leo Voyazides/Simon Hadfield (Lola T70 Mk3B)

2)   Mark Bates (Porsche 911 RSR)

3)   Chris Jolly/Steve Farthing (Cooper Monaco)


All the champions and runners-up will be recognised at the annual Masters Historic Racing Awards Evening in Paris on February 7th, 2014.

All Masters Historic F1 champions will be at the FIA Prize Giving Gala that takes place on December 6th 2013 in Paris and they also will attend the FIA Historic Prize Giving Gala in Morocco on February 15th 2014.