This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

Home heroes aim to shine as the ETCC returns to Brno

The 2015 FIA European Touring Car Cup will be back on track at Brno next week when the series returns to Czech Republic after a one-year gap.

Following the summer break, the respective title battles in the class-based championship remain tightly poised heading to the famous MotoGP venue. And firmly in the thick of the fight for glory are two home-grown star drivers: Petr Fulín and Michal Matĕjovský, who both race for top Czech team Křenek Motorsport. Fulín, the reigning TC2 champion, is currently second in the Single Make Trophy, while Matĕjovský – the driver he beat to that title in 2014 – leads the TC2 standings at the halfway point of the season.

“I have been racing at Brno since I was 15 years old so I know it well and it’s one of my favourite tracks,” said Matĕjovský, 29. “But other drivers also know this track so if I have an advantage it’s a small advantage because there are some very good drivers in the ETCC. My BMW is rear-wheel drive so it might be better in the uphill parts. But what I do know is that I will do everything I can to get two good results from the two races and avoid any contact or crashes that could lose me points. I would be very proud to hear my national anthem and to make my team, my family and my sponsors happy.”


Georgian Davit Kajaia very much remains the driver to beat in TC2T after winning all six races held so far in 2015. He’s prepared for the Brno double-header by racing in the Formula Alfa class in his homeland. His opposition in Czech Republic comes in the form of three Turkish drivers: Galip Atar, Aytaç Biter and Ümit Ülkü. All four race BMW E90 320 TCs.


Davit Kajaia might have done all the winning in TC2T, but Michal Matĕjovský hasn’t quite been able to dominate TC2 as he would have liked due to the experienced Peter Rikli’s performances. The Swiss has won twice in 2015, including last time out in France where he denied Matĕjovský in the opening race. Rikli’s Honda-mounted team-mate Daniel Conrad will also be chasing TC2 honours in Brno.


After claiming a double win at Paul Ricard in July, 20-year-old German Niklas Mackschin holds a 12- point advantage over fast female and compatriot Ulrike Krafft, who will be hoping to return to winning ways in Czech Republic in her Ford Fiesta. Last year’s class champion Gilles Bruckner from Luxembourg and German pair Florian Hildner and Erwin Lukas will also be in action.


With a victory at Paul Ricard breaking his duck for the season, Germany’s Andreas Pfister will be hoping for more success at the expense of home hero and fellow SEAT León racer Petr Fulín. However, both will have to overcome Dušan Borković’s considerable threat with the Serbian topping the points following his hat-trick of wins this season. Rising Slovak star Mato Homola will continue his victory chase, while Swiss Ronny Jost will be hoping for a top result after leading race two at Paul Ricard before dropping back. Lein Racing duo Dejan Bulatović (Montenegro) and Mladen Lalušić (Serbia), who compete on a race-by-race basis, will also be in action.

In total, 19 drivers will contest the two ETCC races at the 5.403-kilometre Brno circuit in South Moravia in southern Czech Republic. Following testing, Free Practice and Qualifying on Saturday, the first of two 10-lap races gets underway at 12h00hrs on Saturday. Race one begins with a rolling start with the second counter getting a standing start. A proportion of the huge season-long prize fund of 250,000 euros, which has been established in conjunction with the ETCC’s tyre partner Yokohama, will be shared out to the successful drivers.

STANDINGS AFTER ROUND 06/12: TC2T: 1 Davit Kajaia (69pts); 2 Ümit Ülkü (44); 3 Aytec Biter (40); 4 Galip Atar (34). TC2: 1 Michal Matĕjovský (65); 2 Peter Rikli (55); 3 Daniel Conrad (36); 4

Ibrahim Okyay (25). S1600: 1 Niklas Mackschin (66); 2 Ulrike Krafft (54); 3 Gilles Bruckner (38); 4

Florian Hildner (20); 5 Erwin Lukas (11); 6 Christian Kranenberg (5). Single Make Trophy: 1   Dušan

Borković (56); 2 Petr Fulín (45); 3 Andreas Pfister (36); 4 Mato Homola (33); 5 Ronny Jost (25); 6

Ferenc Ficza (18); 7 Dejan Bulatovic (12); 8 Mladen Lalusic (9); 9 Alexandr Artemyez (6); 10 Norbert Toth (5). Go to to view the full standings

STATISTICS AFTER ROUND 06/12: TC2T: Race wins: Davit Kajaia 6; Pole positions: Davit Kajaia 3; Fastest laps: Davit Kajaia 5. TC2: Race wins: Michal Matĕjovský 4; Peter Rikli 2; Pole positions: Michal Matĕjovský 3; Fastest laps: Michal Matĕjovský 6. S1600: Race wins: Niklas Mackschin 5; Ulrike Krafft 1; Pole positions: Niklas Mackschin 2; Ulrike Krafft 1; Fastest laps: Niklas Mackschin 4; Ulrike Krafft 2. Single Make Trophy: Race wins: Dušan Borković 3; Ferenc Ficza 1; Petr Fulin 1; Andreas Pfister 1; Pole positions: Dušan Borković 2; Petr Fulin 1; Fastest laps: Dušan Borković 4; Ferenc Ficza 1; Petr Fulin 1.

Press enquiries: Richard Rodgers, +44 7833470541, Television/radio enquiries: Antonios Argyropoulos, Web: Rights-free images: