A high level and consistently growing entry list

With two more months to go to the FIA Formula 3 European Championship season kick-off, the grid of the young-talent series is taking shape.

With the two new squads Signature and West-Tec F3, the 2014 season will be contested by a total of 14 teams. To date, 15 drivers have officially been announced and more signings will follow in the coming weeks.

Italy’s Prema Powerteam that will contest the 2014 season as reigning champion in both the drivers’ and the team rankings already announced three drivers: Dennis van de Laar, Esteban Ocon and Antonio Fuoco. 19-year-old Dutchman van de Laar already has got FIA Formula 3 European Championship experience under his belt while Ocon and Fuoco advance to the series from Formula Renault 2.0. 17-year-old Frenchman Ocon who is supported by the Lotus Formula 1 team impressed last year by securing a top-10 result in his Formula 3 debut in Macau. In the 2013 Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 season he celebrated two race wins and finished third in the championship. His also 17-year-old new team-mate Fuoco advances to the FIA Formula 3 European Championship as reigning Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS Champion and just as Ocon, he also enjoys the support of a Formula 1 team. Indeed, as the 2013 FIA F3 European Champion Raffaele Marciello, the young Italian is member of the Ferrari Driver Academy.

Berlin based squad kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport signed 19-year-old Lucas Auer as early as last year. In the 2013 FIA Formula 3 European Championship season, the Austrian finished fourth with Prema Powerteam. Auer will be teamed-up with also 19-year-old Roy Nissany. Just like his team-mate, the Israeli is going to contest his second season in the planet’s most competitive young-talent series.

Great Britain’s Team Carlin will be represented - inter alia - by Ed Jones and Jake Dennis. Jones who resides in Dubai is 18 years old and reigning European F3 Open Champion. Jake Dennis comes from the UK, is also 18 years old and made name for himself with successes in Formula Renault 2.0. In 2012, he won the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC and was rewarded with the McLaren BRDC Autosport Award. The trio Tom Blomqvist, Sean Gelael and Antonio Giovinazzi also will race under the guidance of Trevor Carlin. The three young guns will represent the colours of Jagonya Ayam with Carlin and already contested the 2013 FIA Formula 3 European Championship season, with Briton Tom Blomqvist - son of 1984 World Rally Champion Stig Blomqvist - finishing seventh for Eurointernational. Giovinazzi and Gelael raced for the British team Double R Racing, last year.

21-year-old Briton Richard Goddard prefers continuity and therefore, he is going to again race for team T-Sport, in his second FIA Formula 3 European Championship season. Meanwhile, the squad of Russell Eacott also announced a new signing: Spaniard Alex Toril. The 17-year-old attracted the team’s attention by finishing fifth in the European F3 Open.

Italy’s Eurointernational, who finished on a par with T-Sport in the team ranking, last year, have signed Riccardo Agostini. The 19-year-old Italian shone by winning the 2012 Italian Formula 3 Championship.

Gustavo Menezes also is making the next step on the motor-racing ladder but abides by his team, Van Amersfoort Racing. In 2013, the US-American finished fourth in the German Formula 3 Cup.

In the coming season, the British fraction on the grid of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship will be bigger: with West-Tec, the most successful team in the history of the European F3 Open (five titles) advances to the most competitive Formula 3 series of the world. For their debut season, West-Tec F3 already succeeded in signing Félix Serrallés. The 21-year-old US-American from Puerto Rico celebrated two wins in his FIA Formula 3 European Championship debut season for Fortec Motorsports and finished 11th in the championship.

In addition, the teams Double R Racing, Fortec Motorsport, Jo Zeller Racing, ma con, URD Rennsport and returnee Signature also enlisted for the 2014 FIA Formula 3 European Championship season but have not yet announced their drivers.