FIA Prize-Giving 2014 inaugurates new format in Doha | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

FIA Prize-Giving 2014 inaugurates new format in Doha

The prestigious annual FIA Prize-Giving ceremony, which honours the achievements of all FIA Champions over the past season, will take place in Doha, Qatar, on 5 December. This year’s edition will be truly special, as it will inaugurate a new format.

The celebrations will start on 4 December with a thrilling Prize-Giving Challenge. FIA Champions and guests will take part for the first time in a fun and exciting competition held at a karting track designed by Herman Tilke in the Prize-Giving Village in Doha, under the direction of F1 race director Charlie Whiting. More than 30 drivers have confirmed their participation, including Daniel Ricciardo, Sébastien Loeb and Petter Solberg. Follow their performance that day using #FIAChallenge.

A press conference of the FIA Champions, a unique opportunity to see champions from the greatest motor sport disciplines side-by-side, will be organised on 5 December. Fans will be given the chance to submit questions to their favorite champions ahead of the event via Facebook and Twitter using #FIADriversTalk and follow the event live on Facebook.

The day will culminate with a glamorous two-part ceremony celebrating the FIA champions. For the first time in FIA history, the ceremony will be broadcast live on BeIN Sport. Follow us on Twitter for exclusive red carpet and backstage insights using #FIAPrizeGiving.

The winners of the 2014 FIA Personality of the Year and 2014 FIA Action of the Year awards will be unveiled that same evening, as will brand new FIA Rookie of the Year award and FIA Pole Position trophy.

FIA Personality of the Year 2014

The FIA Personality of the Year award sees permanently accredited media from the FIA’s World Championships honour the competitor or figure – a driver, a team manager, an official, a volunteer, etc., affiliated to an FIA Championship or Event, who they believe achieved an exceptional performance this season.

FIA Action of the Year 2014

The FIA Action of the Year award allows motor sport’s legions of fans to choose their defining event of the sporting year. The fans will be able from 20 November to cast their vote on and win a great prize.

FIA Rookie of the Year 2014

The FIA Prize-Giving will this year welcome for the first time in FIA history a new FIA Rookie of the Year award.

The FIA Rookie of the Year will be chosen amongst drivers who just completed their first season in an FIA championship. Eligible series include the FIA Formula One World Championship, World Rally Championship, European Rally Championship, World Touring Car Championship, World Endurance Championship, World Rallycross Championship, European Rallycross Championship, European Formula 3 Championship and CIK Karting KF World Championship.

The award winner will be voted for by his or her peers as the seasoned drivers of the FIA Drivers’ Commission have been tasked with the difficult choice. Headed by Formula One two-time world champion Emerson Fittipaldi, the Commission also includes Sébastien Loeb, Nigel Mansell, Karun Chandhok, Emmanuele Piro, Yvan Muller, Susie Wolff, HRH Prince A. Al Faisal, Nasser Al Attiyah, Marcus Grönholm, Daniel Elena, Kenneth Hansen, Danilo Rossi and Keiko Ihara.