FIA celebrates stars of Motorsport and Mobility at Americas Awards in Panama


The FIA proudly sponsored the 12th edition of the Americas Awards in Panama, hosted by the Asociacion Automovilistica de Touring y Deportes de Panama (ASAI) on February 3, 2024. This event celebrated outstanding performers in Motorsport and Mobility from across the American Continent.

Spanish version available here

Saluting the award winners, FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem said, "This gathering is a moment to honour the remarkable achievements of our motorsport champions, alongside advancements in sustainable mobility and road safety. My heartfelt congratulations to all recipients for their exceptional performances."

In their opening speeches, FIA Vice Presidents for Sport North America, Daniel Coen, and for South America, Fabiana Ecclestone, highlighted the FIA's commitment to fostering excellence in both regions. Also attending were Jorge Tomasi, President of Automóvil Club del Uruguay (ACU), and Presidents of FIA Region III and Region IV Frank Fotia and Ricardo Morales, who joined Club delegates from 23 countries across the Americas to celebrate innovation and inclusion in sport and mobility.

Dante Pescetto, ASAI President, said: “I warmly welcome all participants and Club representatives gathered here today and express my pleasure at Panama hosting the ceremony once again. This is a key event for our region to promote motorsport both nationally and internationally”.

“I am also pleased to announce the international introduction of Autodromo Panama. We have signed agreements with Norberto Navarro, President of Autodromo Panama, and Ramon Cardoze from Prodena. Endorsed by the FIA, this new facility aims to attract over 90,000 attendees in 2024, contributing significantly to economic growth and tourism development."

35 drivers from across the Americas representing various disciplines were recognised, among them female Karting drivers Isabella Valldeperas Ocampo from Costa Rica, Anais Orellana Ramos from Chile and Daniella Ore from Peru.

On the Mobility side, 11 noteworthy projects promoting innovation, sustainability, electric mobility, and road safety received commendation. The full list of winners can be found below.

Special recognition was given to Enzo Spano, President of the Touring y Automóvil Club de Venezuela (TACV), for his outstanding contribution to motorsport, while Cleyton Tadeu Pinteiro and Paulo Henrique Costa from Brazil were acknowledged for their exceptional support in organising and promoting sports events in South America.

Looking ahead, an ambitious regional project is on the horizon: the potential development of Formula 4 Panama, spearheaded by co-founders Ronald Chang and Jorge Galvez, offering talented young drivers a structured pathway to the top level of motorsport.


Download the full list of the Americas Awards