Felix Rosenqvist unbeatable in qualifying in the Eifel | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile
This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

Felix Rosenqvist unbeatable in qualifying in the Eifel

Felix Rosenqvist (Prema Powerteam) also turned out to be unbeatable in second qualifying of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship at the 3.629 kilometres long Nürburgring sprint circuit.

In the Eifel, the points’ leader secured his second and third pole positions of the weekend, bringing his season total of fastest qualifying times to 16. George Russell (Carlin) and Lance Stroll (Prema Powerteam) were classified second and third, Jake Dennis (Prema Powerteam) and Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) occupied fourth and fifth place. In the ranking of the second-fastest lap, the order of the drivers behind Rosenqvist was Stroll, Russel, Giovinazzi and Dennis.

Starting grid race 2

Like in first qualifying, the title candidates waited fairly long to join the action in second qualifying as well. Antonio Giovinazzi (1:21.663 minutes) was the first driver from the quartet that still has chances to win the FIA Formula 3 European Championship title to show up on top of the ranking, eleven minutes into the session. Only one minute later, Felix Rosenqvist (1:21.186 minutes) had already beaten Giovinazzi’s time and was on top. Giovinazzi, who initially lost further positions, moved back up into second place again just before the end of the session. However, he wasn’t able to hold on to this position, because George Russell (1:21.406 minutes), Lance Stroll (1:21.486 minutes) and Jake Dennis (1:21.596 minutes) all beat the Italian’s time. Thus, Giovinazzi had to make do with fifth place behind Rosenqvist, Russell, Stroll and Dennis.

Mikkel Jensen (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport, 1:21.707 minutes) ended up sixth in qualifying from Charles Leclerc (Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:21.804 minutes), who, just like Rosenqvist, Giovinazzi and Dennis, also still has title chances. Nick Cassidy (Prema Powerteam, 1:21.824 minutes), Santino Ferrucci (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport, 1:21.876 minutes) and Alessio Lorandi (Van Amersfoort Racing, 1:21.890 minutes) completed the top ten.

Starting grid race 3

The second-fastest lap time of every driver is considered to determine the starting grid positions for the third race of every race weekend. In this ranking, nobody was faster than Felix Rosenqvist (1:21.563 minutes) either. Lance Stroll (1:21.675 minutes), George Russell (1:21.722 minutes), Antonio Giovinazzi (1:21.746 minutes), Jake Dennis (1:21.794 minutes), Mikkel Jensen (1:21.816 minutes), Charles Leclerc (1:21.882 minutes), Nick Cassidy (1:21.907 minutes), Markus Pommer (Motopark, 1:21.976 minutes) and Callum Ilott (Carlin, 1:22.042 minutes) followed behind the Swede.

Felix Rosenqvist (Prema Powerteam): “I am delighted to have claimed all three pole positions. It seems like we have made all the right strategic decisions here. We started a little bit later with our qualifying sessions and this plan worked out really well. To be honest, I didn’t know that my margin on second place was so big, I was just driving and tried to continuously improve. I didn’t really expect to claim both pole positions myself, even though I had the feeling that I had done two good laps. That it indeed was enough, I only found out when I was back in the pits.”