This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

EHSRC Championship Standings after Round Three of the 2019 Season

  • fr
  • es

With three of the nine rounds complete, the race for the 2019 FIA European Historic Sporting Rally Championship (EHSRC) titles is hotting up across all four categories.  The fourth round of the championship will be held on the 27-29 June in Belgium, the Las Vegas Ypres Historic Rally.

Category 1: Close at the Top
Round 3 winners Ernie and Karen Graham head to Belgium with a small two point lead over reigning champions Antonio Parisi and Guiseppe D’Angelo.  The British crew in the Ford Escort Twin Cam are on 53 points, compared to 51 for the Porsche 911 of the Italians.  Germany’s Heiko Dlugos and Tim Rauber are currently on 49 points in the orange Ford Escort, just 4 points behind the Grahams with all to play for on the Belgian roads around Ypres.  
Category 2: Two Points Cover Top Three Cars
Paolo Pasutti and Giovanni Campeis took the win in Spain last month and are currently at the top of the championship points table for category 2 on 39 points.  After missing Round 3, reigning class champions Laszlo Mekler and Edit Mekler-Miko will return in Belgium just one point behind on 38 points in the Alfa Romeo 1750 GTAM.  Fellow Hungarians Peter Magoss and Laszlo Ronay are in third on 37 points while Belgium’s Carlo Mylle and Olivier Laporte return to the fray on 30 points after missing the Rally de Asturias Historico last month.

Category 3: Two Wins in Two Rallies for Wagner and Zauner 
Two wins from the last two rallies, including the overall win in Round 3 last month, has put reigning champions Karl Wagner and Gerda Zauner out in front in the category 3 battle.  

The Austrians are on 40 points in the bright yellow Porsche 911, with Finland’s Pentti Veikkanen and Timo Jaakkola on 33 points in second, also running a Porsche.  Fellow Finns Klaus Wilkman and Hanna Valonen in the distinctive Triumph TR8 are third on 31 points.

Category 4: Swedes Pull Out a Comfortable Lead 
Sweden’s Mats Myrsell and Esko Junttila took their second class win of the season in Spain last month and are currently on 55 points in the Ford Sierra Cosworth 4x4.  The Swedes are 13 points ahead of Antonio Sainz and Javier Martinez in the Subaru Legacy, the Spanish crew on 42 points, with Britain’s Will Graham on 36 points in third in the BMW M3.  

Round 2 winners ‘Lucky’ and Fabrizia Pons are on 33 points after finishing 4th in Spain last month following a fight back drive on day 2 after the Lancia Delta Integrale was badly damaged in an accident on stage 2. 

The championship positions remain provisional following the appeal lodged by the Spanish team running the Ford Sierra Cosworth of Daniel Alonso and Candido Carrera against the decision not to allow them to start the Rally de Asturias Historico.  The results in Belgium will also be provisional until the appeal has been heard by the International Court of Appeal when it next sits in July.

Team Trophy: Italy and Finland Head-To-Head
Historic Rally Club Finland moved ahead of their Italian rivals Scuderia Coppa Amici in the Team title competition.  The Finnish team are on 97 points after three rounds with the Scuderia Coppa Amici and Rododendri Historic Rally teams neck and neck on 87 points each.

CLICK HERE for the current championship classifications after Round 3.

Round 4 of the 2019 FIA European Historic Sporting Rally Championship is the Las Vegas Ypres Historic Rally in Belgium on the 27/29 June.