This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

From Despair to joy as Borkovíc takes ETCC Single Make Trophy title by three points following thrilling season-long battle

The 2015 FIA European Touring Car Cup reached an all-action conclusion at Autodromo Pergusa in Sicily today with Petr Fulín (Czech Republic) and Franz Engstler (Germany) claiming an outright win apiece following two thrilling races shown live on Eurosport.

In the battle for the four class titles*, Davit Kajaia (Georgia) and Michal Matĕjovský (Czech Republic) wrapped up the TC2T and TC2 laurels respectively, while Niklas Mackschin (Germany) secured the Super 1600 spoils following the opening race. However, the destination of the Single Make Trophy came down to a dramatic final-race decider between Fulín and Dušan Borković (Serbia), who crashed out of the first race in spectacular fashion before frantic repairs got him on the grid for race two, which he finished in fourth in class to take the points he needed to become SMT champion.


The drama began before the race had even got underway when title contender Mato Homola’s SEAT ground to a halt with a suspected electrical fault on the formation lap. With Homola no longer a factor in the championship chase, Dušan Borković, who started from pole, looked to have things under control and was edging slightly clear starting lap two when disaster struck at turn three. The Serbian inexplicably ran off line and over the grass where he charged a trackside barrier. The heavy impact, at more than 100kph, threw his SEAT into the air and back across the circuit where it was avoided by the chasing pack. Borković, who suspected that a possible deflated tyre or damaged suspension component had contributed to the accident, managed to limp back to the pits in his badly damaged car for extensive repairs but with Petr Fulín holding his nerve out front for the win, Borković’s once comfortable title advantage was down to 13 points. Franz Engstler had led TC2T initially but got out of shape on the exit of turn two on the second tour and spun across the track where team-mate Davit Kajaia, who had also run onto the grass, managed to avoid his German team boss. The early drama left Andreas Pfister in second but when the Single Make Trophy contender slowed a few laps later with an overheating engine caused by running onto the grass to avoid the crashing Borković, Kajaia moved into second with Ronny Jost inheriting third before Engstler battled back to snatch the final outright podium spot and second in TC2T behind Kajaia with Ümit Ülkü completing the TC2T top- three. Honda driver Peter Rikli won TC2 ahead of Czech Michal Matĕjovský and Turkey’s Ibrahim Okyay with Gilles Bruckner beating Niklas Mackschin in an entertaining scrap for Super 1600 honours after class pole-sitter Ulrike Krafft retired on lap one following a clash with fellow Ford Fiesta driver Florian Hildner at the first turn.


Franz Engstler started sixth on the grid but was in front by the end of the opening lap after pole-sitter Aytaç Biter dropped back in his similar BMW. But it wasn’t long before Davit Kajaia was looming large in Engstler’s mirrors after the German began to lose time with damaged steering, the legacy of  contact with a tyre barrier at half distance. Although Kajaia got close, Engstler was able to hold on by 0.286s, marking the first time this season that a TC2T car had claimed overall race victory in the ETCC. Petr Fulín won the Single Make Trophy section in third overall but missed out on the title by three points after miraculous repair work enabled Dušan Borković to start race two and secure the points he needed to take the title ahead of the Czech following an ultra-conservative drive to the finish in his hastily rebuilt SEAT. Andreas Pfister finished second in SMT in fourth overall, one place ahead of class rival Ronny Jost after the pair had fought out a thrilling battle for position, which went Pfister’s way after Jost was delayed striking a tyre barrier. Peter Rikli made it a TC2 double ahead of provisional champion Michal Matĕjovský, while Niklas Mackschin celebrated his provisional Super 1600 title in style by beating outgoing champion Gilles Bruckner in a close finish. Ulrike Krafft completed the podium but slipped behind Bruckner in the final standings. Biter took third in TC2T with fellow Turk Ibrahim Okyay doing likewise in TC2. Okyay’s BMW carried a black flag in tribute to those killed and injured in the terrorist bombings in the Turkish capital Ankara yesterday. Mato Homola was unable to take the start for the second race running when a technical fault took hold.

Race press conference transcript available soon at:

Race 1 classification: classification-provisional.pdf

Race 2 classification: classification-provisional.pdf

Provisional standings after Round 12/12: content/uploads/2015/10/2015-ETCC-Points-Drivers-after-round-12-of-12-PROVISIONAL.pdf

Provisional FIA European Touring Car Cup champions of 2015*:

TC2T: Davit Kajaia (Georgia)

TC2: Michal Matĕjovský (Czech Republic) Super 1600: Niklas Mackschin (Germany) Single Make Trophy: Dušan Borković (Serbia)

*All results remain subject to official FIA confirmation