Cross-Country – Spain marks the start of the cross-country European tour | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

Cross-Country – Spain marks the start of the cross-country European tour


Baja España Aragón - Round 5 of the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas and the opening round of the FIA European Cup for Cross-Country Bajas

The ever-popular Baja España Aragón (July 22-24) marks the fifth round of the FIA World Cup for Cross Country Bajas and the opening event in the newly-created FIA European Cup for Cross-Country Bajas. It is another classic on the calendar with fiercely tricky conditions over dusty and rocky tracks in the Teruel region of eastern Spain. Coupled with high summer temperatures, the 37th edition of Baja Aragón promises to deliver another stern test.

The event has attracted a record number of entries with some of the discipline’s greatest crews drawn to compete on the first of five European events on the calendar. Yasir Seaidan and Alexey Kuzmich top the entries courtesy of leading the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas. The Russian duo, driving a MINI John Cooper Works Rally, head to Spain off the back of victories on the previous two rounds in Saudi Arabia and Jordan, resulting in a commanding lead in the series.

Nasser Al-Attiyah and Mathieu Baumel make their first appearance in the FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas this season. In the Toyota Hilux Overdrive, the Qatari/French pairing know how to conquer the Spanish stages, having won together in both 2016 and 2017. Team-mates Yazeed Al Rajhi and Michael Orr return to Baja action and will be looking for another victory to add to their win on the Dubai International Baja in February.

The third Overdrive entry is in the hands of Erik Van Loon and Sébastien Delaunay, the Dutch/French pairing hoping to go one better after finishing second on the previous round in Jordan. Nine-time FIA World Rally Champion Sébastien Loeb will debut the Prodrive Hunter on the World Cup stage with new co-driver, Fabian Lurquin, alongside him. Their team-mates, Nani Roma and Alex Haro finished second when the event last ran in 2019, but Roma has stood on the top step of the car podium on his home event no fewer than five times, with four more victories to his name on bikes.

Mattias Ekström and Emil Bergkvist also make their debut in the World Cup on Baja Aragón, the Swedes having successfully been competing in the World Cup for Cross-Country Rallies, where they are amassing some top results in their X-Raid MINI.

Orlando Terranova and Daniel Oliveras team up in Spain, with Terranova looking to repeat his 2019 victory, this time in a third Prodrive vehicle. João Ramos, who finished sixth in 2019, and Filipe Palmeiro, have entered a Toyota Hilux and Poland’s Krzysztof Hołowczyc and Łukasz Kurzeja return to action in another X-Raid MINI.

Jutta Kleinschmidt, President of the FIA Cross-Country Commission and the first and only woman to win the Dakar Rally, will be in cross-country action for the first time since Baja Aragón in 2016. Fully supported by the ABT CUPRA XE team, she is competing as part of her Extreme E training programme for the remaining three races of this season’s electric off-road series.

Behind the field of 43 T1 cars is an impressive entry of T3 and T4 vehicles, the T3 contenders headed by a strong Spanish contingent in a variety of machinery. The title contenders in T4 will go head to head in Spain; Frenchman Claude Fournier leads Saleh Abdullah Alsaif by just five points in the standings with Mshari Althefiri third, a further 7.5 points adrift. The category is sure to be fiercely competitive with a host of top contenders, including defending T4 Champion Kees Koolen and cross-country Baja newcomer Molly Taylor, former Australian Rally Champion. Three crews have also entered in the T2 category.

Total distance   

829.95 km

Selective section distance:

539.36 km

Number of selective sections:




Yasir Seaidan/Alexey Kuzmich

MINI John Cooper Works Rally


Nasser Al-Attiyah/Mathieu Baumel

Toyota Hilux Overdrive


Yazeed Al Rajhi/Michael Orr

Toyota Hilux Overdrive


Erik Van Loon/Sébastien Delaunay

Toyota Hilux Overdrive


Sébastien Loeb/Fabian Lurquin

Prodrive Hunter


Nani Roma/Alex Haro

Prodrive Hunter


Mattias Ekström/Emil Bergkvist

MINI All-4 Racing


Orlando Terranova/Daniel Oliveras

Prodrive Hunter


João Ramos/Filipe Palmeiro

Toyota Hilux


Krzysztof Hołowczyc/Łukasz Kurzeja

MINI John Cooper Works Rally


Paulo Rui Ferreira/Jorge Monteiro

Toyota Hilux Overdrive


Miroslav Zapletal/Marek Sykora

Ford F150 Evo


Jutta Kleinschmidt/Philipp Beier

MINI All-4 Racing




Thursday July 22



From 09:00 hrs

Pre-event press conference

20:00 hrs


Friday July 23 – Leg 1


Start of SS1 (180 km)     

08:30 hrs

First car arrives service

11:17 hrs


Saturday July 24 – Leg 2


Start of SS2 (151 km)

07:46 hrs

Start of SS3 (212 km)

13:21 hrs

First car arrives final service

16:36 hrs

Podium and Prize-giving Ceremony

17:30 hrs


FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas (Drivers)


Yasir Seaidan (SAU)

70.5 points

Mshari Althefiri (KWT)

30 points

Vladimir Vasilyev (RUS)

29 points

Yazeed Al Rajhi (SAU)

28 points

Saleh Abdullah Alsaif (SAU)

27.5 points

Erik Van Loon (NLD)

26 points



FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas (Co-drivers)


Alexey Kuzmich (RUS)

99.5 points

Sébastien Delaunay (FRA)

30 points

Michael Orr (GBR)

28 points

Orio Vidal Montijano (ESP)

27.5 points

Nasser Al-Kuwari (QAT)

22 points

Vladimir Novikov (RUS)

21.5 points



FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas (T3 Drivers)


Dania Saud Akeel (SAU)

54.5 points

Boris Gadasin (RUS)

29 points

Pierre Lachaume (FRA)

28 points

Michel Fadel (LBN)

20 points

Anastasiya Nifontova (RUS)

20 points

Anvar Ergashev (UZB)

15.5 points



FIA World Cup for Cross-Country Bajas (T4 Drivers)


Claude Fournier (FRA)

69.5 points

Saleh Abdullah Alsaif (SAU)

64.5 points

Mshari Althefiri (KWT)

57 points

Pavel Lebedev (RUS)

27 points

Thomas Bell (ARE)

16.5 points

Saed Zaki Almouri (SAU)

15.5 points