WRC – Toyota one-two; Ogier and Toyota closing on titles | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile
This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

WRC – Toyota one-two; Ogier and Toyota closing on titles

  • fr
  • es

WRC - Rally Australia - Saturday afternoon

Ott Tänak has powered into the lead of Rally Australia and takes a 21.9 second advantage over team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala into tomorrow’s final and Championship deciding day of the 2018 FIA World Rally Championship. With its potential points haul, Toyota is also looking good to secure the Manufacturers’ title. Hayden Paddon has climbed into third and is just 4.4 seconds behind Latvala, and while Sebastien Ogier is down in sixth position, the Frenchman is currently in control of the fight for the Drivers’ title.

This afternoon’s repeated loop of stages was certainly no easier than the morning’s, but Tänak’s charge remained undiminished and the Estonian powered ahead of Latvala in the second stage to take the lead he needs to have any hope of the title. He remains focused on his own performance and with another stage win in the last of the loop of four stages headed into the closing super special stages with a 9.7 second lead. Rain then fell for some of the contenders; Tänak took one of the super special wins and overnights with a comfortable lead. Unlike his team-mate, Latvala only took one spare wheel, preferring the balance of the car with less weight, but the Finn rued the decision when his tyres started to go off in the third stage. He only has a 4.4 second advantage over Paddon, who climbed the order during the afternoon stages. The Kiwi won the first stage – one of his favourites – and managed to overhaul Mads Østberg for third in SS15, the Norwegian having a difficult afternoon with the balance of the car. 

Esapekka Lappi is fifth and the Finn set one fastest time during the afternoon to close to within 3.8 seconds of Østberg. Ogier’s is holding station in sixth, nearly a minute adrift of Lappi but with a cushion behind in the form of team-mate Elfyn Evans. At the moment, the Frenchman remains the title favourite with six stages remaining on Sunday. Thierry Neuville climbed a position to eighth, overhauling Teemu Suninen despite a difficult afternoon essentially still sweeping the roads at the front of the field. He won the last super special stage. Craig Breen rounds out the top 10, the Irish driver spinning in SS14 and losing 13 seconds.

Alberto Heller continues to dominate the FIA WRC 2 Championship and the Chilean has more than 10 minutes in hand to second placed Armin Kremer with Gianluca Linari third. After returning under Rally 2 regulations, Enrico Brazzoli continues his WRC 3 drive to the finish.

Rally Australia – Unofficial results after Section 6


Ott Tänak / Martin Järveoja

Toyota Yaris WRC

2hr 07min 52.0sec


Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka Anttila

Toyota Yaris WRC

2hr 08min 13.9sec


Hayden Paddon / Sebastian Marshall

Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC

2hr 08min 18.3sec


Mads Østberg / Torstein Eriksen

Citroen C3 WRC

2hr 08min 38.6sec


Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm

Toyota Yaris WRC

2hr 08min 42.4sec


Sebastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia

Ford Fiesta WRC

2hr 09min 36.8sec


Elfyn Evans / Daniel Barritt

Ford Fiesta WRC

2hr 09min 56.6sec


Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul

Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC

2hr 10min 27.2sec


Teemu Suninen / Mikko Markkula

Ford Fiesta WRC

2hr 10min 41.0sec


Craig Breen / Scott Martin

Citroen C3 WRC

2hr 14min 18.8sec