WRC - Rallye Deutschland - Preview


The 10th round of the FIA World Rally Championship takes the contenders to Rallye Deutschland.

The 35th edition of Rallye Deutschland returns to the Saarland and the HQ and service park in Bostalsee replace historic Trier as the base for the rally. The event is considered to be the trickiest asphalt encounter on the calendar and, despite moving its base, will continue to have the same challenging mix of stages with very different characteristics. 

After the Saarbrücken city centre stage on Thursday night, Friday heads into the vineyards around the Mosel River where narrow roads and endless hairpin bends await. A new super special stage has also been added, affording spectators day-long action as it runs three times. In contrast, Saturday is about the Baumholder military ranges and its daunting concrete roads lined with car-breaking kerbstones known as hinkelsteins. Sunday is again different and takes the contenders onto faster country roads in the Saarland region. The weather also plays a significant role and working with route note and weather crews is vital to ensure optimum tyre choices, especially when individual stage conditions can vary from dry to damp or full wet in one single loop of stages.

With nine of the Championship’s 13 rounds run and six different crews standing on the top step of the podium, predicting a winner remains impossible.  Thierry Neuville and reigning FIA World Rally Champion Sébastien Ogier go into the event tied on points at the head of the standings, although Neuville will lead the field on the first day having secured three wins to Ogier’s two during the season. Rallye Deutschland is also a mandatory scoring event in the FIA WRC 2 Championship and runaway points-scorer Pontus Tidemand will be looking for another top result to secure an unassailable lead. The youngsters in the FIA Junior WRC Championship are also back in action, this being the penultimate round of their six-event season.

Three stages will be broadcast live; the opening street stage on Thursday evening, Saturday’s SS12 and the closing Power Stage on Sunday.


germany map ss 2017.png


This year’s route has some familiarity, but no fewer than five of the 10 different stages are new, including both super special stages on Thursday and Friday, Saturday’s Römerstraße stage and the whole of Sunday’s route. The remaining stages are the same as last year, with the exception of SS4/7 (Grafschaft) which has not run since 2015. 

The event kicks off in Saarbrücken, south of the new Bostalsee service park, in front of the State Theatre on Thursday evening. After three days of competition, the crews will finish the closing Power Stage on the outskirts of the Bostalsee service park where the winners will immediately be crowned champions live on television. 


“Rallye Deutschland is always unpredictable and could deliver another surprise,” said Jarmo Mahonen, FIA Rally Director. “The variety of stages and changeable weather present a big challenge, plus we haven’t been on Tarmac since Corsica in April and the nature of those roads is very different. All the crews have shown real pace so far this season, and I still feel there is another winner out there who has yet to stand on the top step of the podium.”


Total distance:
Stage distance:
Number of stages:

1,165.25 km
309.17 km (26.5%)


The Accreditation Centre is located at Victor’s Seehotel Weingärtner, Bostalstraße 12, D-66625 Nohfelden-Bosen. The opening hours are:

Tuesday 15 August
Wednesday 16 August
Thursday 17 August
Friday 18 August

14:00 – 18:00 hrs
08:00 – 21:00 hrs
07:00 – 18:00 hrs
07:45 – 14:00 hrs 


Wednesday 16 August
Mandatory media safety briefing, photographers' room 

Thursday 17 August
Shakedown (P1 drivers)
Shakedown (P2 and P3 drivers)
Shakedown (non-Priority drivers)
'Meet the Crews', Service Park
FIA Press Conference, Press Room
Opening Ceremony and driver presentation
Autograph session, P1 drivers

Friday 18 August
First car arrives for regroup, service and
Media Zone, Bostalsee
First car arrives for final service and
Media Zone, Bostalsee
'Meet the Crews', Service Park

Saturday 19 August
Regroup and autograph session, St Wendel
First car arrives for regroup, service and
Media Zone, Bostalsee
First car arrives for final service and
Media Zone, Bostalsee
'Meet the Crews', Service Park

Sunday 20 August
Regroup, Bostalsee
Regroup, Losheim
Prize-Giving and podium ceremony,
Service Park
FIA Press Conference, Press Room

17:00 hrs

08:00-11:30 hrs
09:30-11:30 hrs
11:30-13:30 hrs
12:00 hrs
12:30 hrs
17:15 hrs
18:00 hrs
19:10 hrs

13:59 hrs

19:30 hrs

During the 45' service

12:48 hrs
13:47 hrs

19:17 hrs

During the 45' service

09:13 hrs
10:51 hrs
13:00 hrs

13:45 hrs 


Thursday 17 August

Sunday 20 August

Nicolas Ciamin, FIA Junior WRC Championship
Julius Tannert, FIA Junior WRC Championship
Marijan Griebel, FIA WRC 2 Championship
Teemu Suninen, FIA WRC 2 Championship
Yves Matton, Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT 
Thierry Neuville, Hyundai Motorsport 
Sébastien Ogier, M-Sport World Rally Team
Esapekka Lappi, Toyota GAZOO Racing WRT

Winning FIA Junior WRC Championship crew
Winning FIA WRC 3 Championship crew
Winning FIA WRC 2 Championship crew
Top three crews in the overall classification
Representative of the winning competitor


M-Sport World Rally Team

Hyundai Motorsport

Citroën Total Abu Dhabi

Toyota GAZOO
Racing WRT

Sébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia (#1)
Ott Tänak / Martin Järveoja  (#2)
Elfyn Evans / Daniel Barritt (#3)

Hayden Paddon / Sebastian Marshall (#4)
Thierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (#5)
Dani Sordo / Marc Marti (#6)

Kris Meeke / Paul Nagle (#7)
Craig Breen / Scott Martin (#8)
Andreas Mikkelsen / Anders Jæger (#9)

Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka Anttila (#10)
Juho Hänninen / Kaj Lindström (#11)
Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm (#12)


Autograph Signing Session: On Friday and Saturday selected crews will be available for a 15 minute autograph session. This will take place in the service park during the end of day service at the teams’ service areas. 


The provisional classifications for all the WRC Championships can be found on the following link:



Shortly after the finish of the event, a downloadable stage chart showing the progressive positions of the leading crews during the rally will be available. This is copyright free for editorial purposes and available at the following link: