This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

WRC - Rally Turkey finalises September date change


• Turkey advances one week in FIA World Rally Championship calendar
• Gravel road fixture to run on 18 - 20 September 2020
• Switch increases opportunities to add further rallies to WRC schedule

Rally Turkey 2019 - Teemu Suninen (DPPI)

Turkey’s 2020 FIA World Rally Championship fixture will move forward by one week to 18 - 20 September. 

WRC Promoter has agreed a switch with the Turkish Automobile Sports Federation (TOSFED), organiser of the Marmaris-based gravel road encounter, which has been rubber-stamped by motorsport’s governing body, the FIA.  

The date change facilitates the opportunity to introduce additional events to the calendar for the second half of the season in what remains an evolving situation due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The switch means the event, round five of the championship, will be held two weeks after Rally Estonia (4 - 6 September) which restarts the WRC season following lockdown. 

WRC Promoter managing director Jona Siebel thanked Turkey’s Ministry of Youth and Sports and TOSFED for agreeing the change.

“The date switch provides us with options if we wish to introduce further events to the 2020 calendar and we’re extremely grateful to TOSFED for its flexibility in what are challenging times for sport across the world.

“Marmaris, a popular holiday resort in Turkey, is open for business and welcoming tourists. Competitors and fans can feel confident about travelling there again after the Coronavirus lockdown.
“The event will, of course, run with Covid-19 protocols in place. FIA and WRC Promoter guidelines will be applied to Turkey’s health laws to create a safe environment for all involved and for fans to enjoy,” added Siebel.

TOSFED president Eren Üçlertopraği said: “We’re delighted to be welcoming the FIA WRC back to Turkey for the third time and will do all that’s required for running a safe and successful event under the required conditions.”

The 2020 calendar is:
1. Monte-Carlo 23 - 26 January
2. Sweden 13 - 16 February
3. Mexico 12 - 15 March
4. Estonia 4 - 6 September
5. Turkey 18 - 20 September
6. Germany 15 - 18 October
7. Italy 29 October - 1 November
8. Japan 19 - 22 November