WRC - Rally Deutschland - Preview | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile
This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

WRC - Rally Deutschland - Preview

  • fr
  • es

The FIA World Rally Championship resumes with round ten of the 2019 season.

Round 10 of the 2019 FIA World Rally Championship takes the crews back onto tarmac for Rallye Deutschland (22-25 August), an event known for its demanding roads and often changeable weather conditions. 

First run in 1982, it was part of the FIA European Rally Championship before becoming Germany’s round of the WRC in 2002. Although the rally base moved from Trier to Bostalsee two years ago, it has remained faithful to a popular formula combining twisty vineyard roads above the Mosel river, the varied and sometimes broken surfaces of the Baumholder military ground, and fast country lanes of the Saarland region. 

Winner of the last two editions, Ott Tänak could target a hat trick to further increase his championship lead, which grew to 22 points after the triumph of the Toyota driver on the last round in Finland. His rivals Sébastien Ogier (Citroën) and Thierry Neuville (Hyundai) – who are separated by just three points – are also both former winners of the event, opening up the prospect of a thrilling, flat-out battle between the trio.

With Elfyn Evans continuing to recover from a back injury, Gus Greensmith gets another top-level start with M-Sport. After skipping Finland, Rally Sardinia’s winner Dani Sordo returns to the Hyundai line-up alongside Neuville and Andreas Mikkelsen. Meanwhile, Toyota offers its Japanese protégé Takamoto Katsuta his first WRC outing in a Yaris - entered by Tommi Mäkinen Racing - after several impressive demonstrations in FIA WRC 2.

FIA WRC 2 Pro leader Kalle Rovanperä has four consecutive class wins under his belt but the Finn will face stiff competition in Germany, from his Škoda team-mate and asphalt expert Jan Kopecký, as well as Citroën’s Mads Østberg and Eric Camilli, competing in M-Sport’s latest Ford Fiesta R5. 

Fresh from his maiden win in Finland, Russia’s Nikolay Gryazin heads a strong 15-car entry in the FIA WRC 2, which includes the French trio Adrien Fourmaux, Nicolas Ciamin and Stéphane Lefebvre, and the German pair Marijan Griebel and Fabian Kreim.


This year’s Rallye Deutschland begins with a new twist, as the 5.2 kilometre “St. Wendeler Land” Shakedown is then run again on Thursday evening as the first competitive stage. Friday’s loop consists of a pair of vineyard stages, plus the Wadern-Weikirchen circuit test, with all three run twice. Saturday’s format offers two Saarland country lane stages to be run twice in the morning, ahead of two loops around Baumholder in the afternoon. On Sunday, the rally returns to the vineyards for another pair of repeated stages to conclude the event.



Total distance:1'228.23 km
Stage distance:344.04 km (28%)
Number of stages:19


The Accreditation Centre is located in the Media Center in the Bostalsee Service Park (Am Seehafen, D-66625 Nohfelden-Bosen).

The opening hours are: 

Tuesday 20 August14:00 – 18:00 hrs
Wednesday 21 August08:00 – 21:00 hrs
Thursday 22 August08:00 – 18:00 hrs
Friday 23 August08:00 – 14:00 hrs


Wednesday 21 August 
Mandatory media safety briefing, Photographers’ Room, Media Center17:00 hrs
Thursday 22 August  
Mandatory shakedown for P1 & P2P, St Wendeler Land10:00 - 11:30 hrs
Shakedown for all Priority drivers (P1, P2P, P2, R-GT), St Wendeler Land11:30 - 13:30 hrs
Shakedown (others), St Wendeler Land13:30 - 15:30 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ Top 3 Shakedown, WRC stage, Bostalsee Service Park14:00 hrs
FIA Press Conference, Press Room, Media Center, Bostalsee SP14:30 hrs
Rally opening ceremony, Bostalsee SP18:00 – 18:30 hrs
including autograph signing session for P1 & P2P crews 
Start of the rally (section 1), Bostalsee Service SP18:45 hrs
Friday 23 August 
Start of Section 2, Bostalsee SP09:00 hrs
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & service, Bostalsee SP13:33 hrs
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & final service, Bostalsee SP19:01 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ post-Leg 1, WRC stage, Bostalsee SPDuring the 48’ service
Saturday 24 August 
Start of Section 4, Bostalsee SP07:15 hrs
Regroup, St Wendel09:59 hrs
First car arrives for regroup, media zone & service, Bostalsee SP13:16 hrs
First car arrives for media zone, regroup & final service, Bostalsee SP17:11 hrs
‘Meet the Crews’ post-Leg 2, WRC stage, Bostalsee SPDuring the 48’ service
Sunday 25 August 
Start of Section 8, Bostalsee SP06:20 hrs
Regroup, Morbach08:41 hrs
Regroup, Morbach11:05 hrs
Rally finish, Bostalsee SP13:33 hrs
Podium Ceremony & Price Giving, Bostalsee SPapprox. 14:00 hrs
FIA Press Conference, Press Room, Media Center, Bostalsee SP14:45 hrs


Thursday 22 AugustFIA WRC 
 Ott Tänak (EST), Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT
 Sébastien Ogier (FRA), Citroën Total WRT
 Thierry Neuville (BEL), Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT
 Gus Greensmith (GBR), M-Sport Ford WRT
 Takamoto Katsuta (JAP), Tommi Mäkinen Racing
 Jan Kopecký (CZE), Škoda Motorsport
 Mads Østberg (NOR), Citroën Total
 Kajetan Kajetanowicz (POL)
 Marijan Griebel (DEU)
Sunday 25 AugustWinning FIA WRC 2 Pro Championship crew
 Winning FIA WRC 2 Championship crew
 Top three crews in the overall classification
 Representative of the winning manufacturer


Hyundai Shell Mobis WRTThierry Neuville / Nicolas Gilsoul (#11)
 Andreas Mikkelsen / Anders Jaeger-Amland (#89)
 Dani Sordo / Carlos Del Barrio (#6)
Toyota Gazoo Racing WRTOtt Tänak / Martin Järveoja (#8)
 Kris Meeke / Sebastian Marshall (#5)
 Jari-Matti Latvala / Miikka Anttila (#10)
Citroën Total WRTSébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia (#1)
 Esapekka Lappi / Janne Ferm (#4)
M-Sport Ford WRTTeemu Suninen / Jarmo Lehtinen (#3)
 Gus Greensmith / Elliott Edmondson (#33)


The provisional classifications for all the WRC Championships is available on the following link: