WRC - Ogier retakes the lead | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile
This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

WRC - Ogier retakes the lead


Reigning FIA World Rally Champion Sébastien Ogier has inched into the lead of Rallye Monte-Carlo after today’s opening loop of three stages. The Frenchman trailed overnight leader Kris Meeke through the first two tests but fought back after a slow puncture in the second stage to take a 1.5 second advantage into the afternoon stages. Andreas Mikkelsen, who starts the 2016 World Rally Championship season with a new co-driver, holds station in third, albeit already over 30 seconds adrift of team-mate Ogier.

Jari-Matti Latvala had a steady run this morning and holds fourth, just 3.4 seconds ahead of Thierry Neuville who heads the assault for Hyundai in the new generation i20 WRC. He and team-mate Dani Sordo have been struggling with handling issues and the Spaniard holds seventh at the midday service. Hayden Paddon, in the team’s 2015 specification car, was fifth last night but the New Zealander went off the road in the first stage, hit a tree and took a wheel off. Mads Østberg, back in M-Sport’s Fiesta RS WRC this season, is sixth and his team-mate Eric Camilli – who is competing in his first event in a world rally car – was an impressive fifth quickest through stage four and holds eighth going into the afternoon stages. Robert Kubica, eighth overall last night, went off the road this morning.

In the FIA WRC 2 Championship, Elfyn Evans has set a blistering pace, taking three stage wins to overcome more than a minute’s deficit after a puncture in last night’s first stage. The FIA WRC 3 Championship category is being led by Norway’s Ole Christian Veiby in a Citroën DS3 R3.

Rallye Monte-Carlo – Unofficial Results after Section 2

1.   Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia

Volkswagen Polo R WRC

57min 06.7sec

2.   Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle


57min 08.2sec

3.   Andreas Mikkelsen/Anders Jaeger Synneväg

Volkswagen Polo R WRC

57min 44.5sec

4.   Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila

Volkswagen Polo R WRC

58min 00.2sec

5.   Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul

Hyundai i20 WRC

58min 03.6sec

6.   Mads Østberg/Ola Fløene

Ford Fiesta RS WRC

58min 18.3sec

7.   Dani Sordo/Marc Marti

Hyundai i20 WRC

58min 49.1sec

8.   Eric Camilli/Nicolas Klinger

Ford Fiesta RS WRC

58min 52.7sec

9.   Stephane Lefebvre/Gabin Moreau


58min 54.7sec

10. Ott Tanak/Raigo Molder

Ford Fiesta RS WRC

59min 08.4sec