This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

World RX - Timmy Hansen holds the aces after Q3

  • fr
  • es

2019 World RX of South Africa - Q3 

Team Hansen MJP’s Timmy Hansen won the Q3 battle in the fight to become the 2019 FIA World Rallycross Champion at the SABAT World RX of South Africa.

Monster Energy RX Cartel’s Andreas Bakkerud laid down the gauntlet from pole in Q3 race 1 with three of the quickest laps of the weekend, before Hansen took the hole shot in race 2 and won the race to go quicker than Bakkerud by almost 2 seconds. Hansen’s team mate Kevin Hansen finished second in race 2 and was P3 in the session, but overnight TQ (top qualifier), GRX Taneco’s Niclas Gronholm jumped the start in Q3 race 3 and had to take two joker laps as penalty. However Gronholm also sent blindingly fast lap times and even with two joker laps ended the session P4.

GC Kompetition’s Guerlain Chicherit was P5 in Q3 after a close fight with GCK Academy’s Guillaume De Ridder on lap 1. Team STARD’s Janis Baumanis finished behind the Hansens in race 2 and was P6 with GRX’s Timur Timerzyanov P7 after a battle on track with De Ridder.

Q3 was run as three 5 car races as RX Cartel’s Liam Doran withdrew before the start. That changed the grid order, but the Great Britain driver will return for Q4.

Find full Cape Town RX results here.