WEC - Rebellion and Porsche on Pole in Bahrain  | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

WEC - Rebellion and Porsche on Pole in Bahrain 

  • fr
  • es

At the end of the 20-minute LMP qualifying session it was Rebellion Racing who will start at the head of the field for the second race in a row after claiming the overall pole position for tomorrows Bapco 8 Hours of Bahrain.  It was a Porsche 1-2 in LMGTE Pro with the no91 911 RSR-19 at the head of the GT grid.

Bruno Senna and Norman Nato set the best average lap of 1m42.979s in the no1 Rebellion Racing R13-Gibson with Senna setting a scintillating overall fastest time of 1m42.396 in opening minutes of the session.  The no5 Team LNT Ginetta-AER places second as Charlie Robertson and Ben Hanley set an average just 0.144s off the pole.  Toyota-Gazoo Racing will start third and fourth as no8 TS 050 HYBRID just heads sister no7 car.

LMGTE Pro sees pole position go to no91 Porsche 911 RSR-19 as Richard Lietz and Gianmaria Bruni claim their second pole of the season.  The Austrian/Italian teammates average 1m55.485, with Lietz setting fastest overall lap time of 1m55.342s.  

Porsche claim a 1-2 with the no92 car of reigning world champions Michael Christensen and Kevin Estre taking second position, just 0.060s behind their stablemates.  AF Corse place third and fourth as the no51 488 heads the no71 Ferrari GTE Evo.

United Autosports claimed their first ever LMP2 WEC pole position with British duo Paul di Resta and Phil Hanson setting an average lap time of 1m45.357s, with Di Resta claiming the overall quickest LMP2 lap of 1m44.869s.  

Jackie Chan DC Racing duo of Will Stevens and Gabriel Aubry qualify just 0.3s off class pole sitters, with G-Drive Racing will start their first WEC race of the season from third position in the Aurus 01-Gibson.

In LMGTE Am the no57 Team Project 1 Porsche took its first pole of the season, with Larry Ten Voorde and Ben Keating combining to set an average lap of 1m57.602s.  Ten Voorde claimed fastest overall lap with a 1m57.089s effort, with the no54 AF Corse Ferrari finishing the 20 minute session in second as Giancarlo Fisichella and Thomas Flohr, just ahead of the no88 Dempsey Proton Porsche with Khaled Al Qubaisi and Thomas Preining setting the time.

The Bapco 8 Hours of Bahrain will get underway at 15h00 (local) / 13h00 CET on Saturday afternoon with the chequered flag due to shown at 23h00 after the sun has set.

for the result from LMP Qualifying for the 8 Hours of Bahrain

for the result from LNGTE Qualifying for the 8 Hours of Bahrain