WEC: 8 Hours of Portimão preview | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

WEC: 8 Hours of Portimão preview


Following May’s season-opening event at Spa-Francorchamps, marking the beginning of the Hypercar era in the FIA World Endurance Championship, the championship moves south for its second round, to race on Portuguese soil for the first time, at the world-class Autódromo Internacional do Algarve.


Race duration:8 hours
Location: The Autódromo Internacional do Algarve is located in the south of Portugal, 280km south of Lisbon, in the hills above the coastal town of Portimão on the beautiful Algarve region. 
 Autódromo Internacional do Algarve
Sítio do Escampadinho, Mexilhoeira Grande, 8500-148 Portimão, Portugal
Tel :      +351 282405600
web:     https://autodromodoalgarve.com/
Airports: Faro – 55 miles / 88 km    Lisbon – 180 miles / 288 km 




After the battles at the opening round of the 2021 season at Spa-Francorchamps the FIA World Endurance Championship will now visit the Algarve International Circuit for the 8 Hours of Portimão. It marks the first time that the FIA WEC races on Portuguese soil since the inception of the championship back in 2012.

  • The 8 Hours of Portimão will see the race debut for the Glickenhaus 007 LMH, joining the two Toyota GR010 Hybrids and the Alpine A480-Gibson in the Hypercar class.
  • 32 cars are entered for the 8 Hours of Portimão – 4 LMH, 11 LMP2, 4 LMGTE Pro, 13 LMGTE Am
  • The 8 Hours of Portimão is the first of two 8-hour races on the 2021 calendar, the second being the 8 Hours of Bahrain in November.
  • With Filipe Albuquerque missing his home race, Portuguese hopes rest with reigning FIA Formula E Drivers’ Champion Antonio Felix Da Costa, who will once again be behind the wheel of the LMP2 class no38 Jota Oreca 07-Gibson alongside former FIA World Endurance Drivers’ Champion Anthony Davidson and their Mexican teammate Roberto Gonzalez.  They currently lie second in the championship after finishing second at Spa last month.
  • Reigning LMP2 24 Hours of Le Mans champion Paul Di Resta is stepping in for Filipe Albuquerque in the United Autosports USA squad. 
  • F2 regular and double 2021 European Le Mans Series race winner Louis Deletraz will replace Renger van der Zande in the Inter Europol Competition Oreca. 
  • ARC Bratislava will welcome endurance specialist Oli Webb to their line-up for Portugal, the Briton tested the Ligier JSP217 at the Prologue but missed Spa due to another race commitment.

The Total 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps saw history made with the first Hypercar victory going to Toyota, with the #8Toyota driven by Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Brendon Hartley taking the chequered flag for Round 1 of the 2021 FIA World Endurance Championship.  There was a race long battle for the Toyota GR010-Hybrid with Alpine A480, which eventually went Toyota’s way as Sebastien Buemi took the flag ahead of Andre Negrao driven Alpine in second.  

#92 Porsche GT Team 911 RSR–19 driven by Kevin Estre and Neel Jani took a comprehensive victory in LMGTE Pro.  The win is the second for Estre at Spa in as many years, while Jani makes a winning return to WEC after three years away, his first in LMGTE. Porsche led for majority of race despite an early race tyre issue. The #51 AF Corse Ferrari driven by Alessandro Pierguidi and James Calado take second place, while sister car of Miguel Molina and Daniel Serra claiming final rung of podium.

The #22 United Autosports USA Oreca-Gibson took a crushing LMP2 victory as reigning champions Filipe Albuquerque and Phil Hanson, along with new teammate Fabio Scherer stake an early claim to retain titles. Albuquerque enjoyed a sizeable gap of over a lap to rest of competition in dominant display. JOTA come through the field and take second and third places, with the #28 car set to be runners-up position. However, a late race penalty for contact with Alpine Hypercar saw the #38 JOTA Oreca-Gibson snatch second, with their teammates taking the final podium place at the flag.

Reigning class champions AF Corse took a comfortable win, taking the win 44 seconds ahead of the nearest rival in the #83 Ferrari 488. The pole sitting #33 TF Sport Aston Martin finished second despite an early huge moment for Keating after the Ben Keating was side swiped by the #21 Dragonspeed USA Oreca of Juan Pablo Montoya. A late penalty for the #88 Dempsey-Proton Porsche saw the #47 Cetilar Racing Ferrari take the final podium position.



Brendon Hartley / Kazuki Nakajima / Sebastien Buemi 

#8 Toyota Gazoo Racing Toyota GR010 Hybrid

25 pts

Kevin Estre / Neel Jani 

#92 Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR-19

 26 pts

Phil Hanson / Filipe Albuquerque / Fabio Scherer 

#22 United Autosports USA Oreca 07-Gibson

26 pts

Alessio Roversa / Francois Perrodo / Nicklas Nielsen

#82 AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTE EVO

25 pts


Thursday, 10 June   
13:00 - 19:00Scrutineering
Friday, 11 June 
15:15 – 16:45 Free Practice 1
Saturday, 12 June  
09:35 – 11:05Free Practice 2
14:00 – 15:00  Free Practice 3 
18:00 – 18:10 Qualifying – LMGTE Pro/LMGTE Am
18:20 – 18:30Qualifying - HYPERCAR/LMP2
19:15 Qualifying Press Conference
Sunday, 13 June 
11:00 – 19:00 RACE: 8 Hours of Portimão 
19:30Post-race Press Conference 



FIA Chairman of the Stewards

Jean-François VEROUX 

FIA International Steward


FIA Race Director


FIA Technical Delegate

Manuel LEAL

FIA Sport Coordinator


FIA Medical Delegate


Chief Timekeeper

Cristóbal LOPERA

FIA Driver Adviser

Yannick DALMAS

FIA Media Delegate




The provisional classifications for all the Championship can be found on the following link: