WEC – 30 Entries for the 6 Hours of Fuji

  • fr
  • es

An exciting array of Le Mans Prototypes (LMP) and Le Mans Grand Tourer Endurance (LMGTE) will be in Japan for Round 2 of the 2019/20 FIA World Endurance Championship, the 6 Hours of Fuji.

The grid will feature 13 LMP and 17 LMGTE, with 84 drivers and 20 teams representing 25 different nations from across the world, including the home nation Japan.

This is reigning world champions Toyota Gazoo Racing’s first trip to Japan since winning the FIA World Endurance Championship at Le Mans in June.  2018/2019 World Drivers’ Champion Kazuki Nakajima will be in the no8 TS050-Hybrid alongside his fellow champion Sebastien Buemi and former double world champion Brendon Hartley.  

Kamui Kobayashi is the current championship leader, alongside Jose Maria Lopez and Mike Conway, in the no7 Toyota TS050-Hybrid after taking maximum points in the first round at Silverstone last month.

The LMGTE Pro field will see Ferrari, Porsche and Aston Martin go head to head once again.  Porsche travel to Japan after taking a dominant 1-2 at Silverstone last month, with Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz leading from their teammates, and reigning world champions, Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen.

The LMP2 field will consist of 8 entries with Japan’s Kenta Yamashita joining Denmark’s Anders Fjordbach and American Mark Patterson in the no33 High Class Racing Oreca-Gibson.  Cool Racing’s Nicolas Lapierre and Antonin Borga scored maximum points on the Swiss team’s WEC debut at Silverstone last month and it is hope that Alexandre Coigny will be back in the car in Japan after being forced to sit out the opening round in the UK after an accident earlier in the weekend.

With 11 cars in the LMGTE Am category Japanese team MR Racing will be competing against some strong opposition.  The no70 Ferrari 488 GTE EVO will feature two Japanese drivers, Motoaki Ishhikawa and Kei Cozzolino alongside former F1 racer Olivier Beretta.

The grid for the 6 Hours of Fuji will feature no less than ten reigning or past FIA World Champions or overall 24 Hours of Le Mans winners, with several former F1 drivers including Giancarlo Fisichella, Bruno Senna and Olivier Beretta.

The 6 Hours of Fuji will take place on Sunday 6 October at Fuji Speedway, in the shadow of the iconic Mount Fuji.

for the entry list for the 6 Hours of Fuji