This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

WEC: 186 drivers to contest Le Mans on centenary


A total of 186 drivers is set to battle it out in the 24 Hours of Le Mans this year, with the famous endurance classic celebrating its 100th anniversary

Round four of this year’s FIA World Endurance Championship is set for no less than 62 cars, headlined by a 16-entry-strong Hypercar class, featuring machinery from seven different manufacturers, including the likes of Cadillac, Ferrari, Glickenhaus, Peugeot, Porsche, Toyota and Vanwall.

The top class is also studded with star drivers and features the likes of Sébastien Buemi (four-time victor at Le Mans), André Lotterer (three-time winner) and Romain Dumas (victorious on two occasions and holder of the longest distance covered record).

With 24 identical Gibson-powered Orecas, the LMP2 class promises a battle as intense as ever. Eight of the competing LMP2 cars are also entered in a separate, Pro/Am classification, while 21 cars from four different manufacturers (eight Porsches, seven Ferraris, five Aston Martins and a sole Corvette) guarantee a fierce LMGTE Am contest.

The entry also features a total of five females, all being WEC full-season entrants, including the recent Spa class winner Lilou Wadoux as well as Doriane Pin, Sarah Bovy, Michelle Gatting and Rahel Frey.

Garage 56, reserved for an innovative car running outside the three classes, will host a modified NASCAR Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 entered by renowned stock car team Hendrick Motorsports. The car will be shared by an all-star line-up of Formula 1 World Champion Jenson Button, Le Mans winner Mike Rockenfeller and seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson.