South Africa shines at the inaugural African Karting Cup


South African karting drivers claimed the top spots across all three classes at the African Karting Cup in Zwartkops, South Africa this weekend.

South Africa’s Muhammad Wally took the top spot in OK-N, while Wian Boshoff and Max Boshoff claimed victory in the OK-J and Mini ROK classes.

The African Karting Cup is a prestigious new karting event, which aims to boost participation and increase opportunities for young drivers looking to enter international competition. This year’s OK-N winner will get the opportunity to compete at the FIA Karting World Championship, while the top-placed OK-J participant will receive free entry to next year’s OK-N competition.

The event builds on the successful MENA Karting Cup with an international grassroots approach.

FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem celebrated the success of the event, saying: “Congratulations to all competitors who took part in the first Africa Karting Cup in collaboration with Motorsport South Africa. Thanks to the vision and commitment of Rodrigo Rocha, FIA Vice-President for Sport - Africa, ROK Cup SA and volunteers, the event drew 61 competitors from 9 African countries, providing the chance for them to take their crucial first steps on the motorsport talent staircase. Competitions like this are at the heart of my FIA development team’s mission to double motorsport participation on a global scale.”

The event took place at Zwartkops Raceway in Gauteng, South Africa. Competitors from Angola, Botswana, Nigeria, Namibia, Madagascar, Kenya, Zimbabwe, South Africa and  Mozambique competed at the inaugural race weekend.

ROK SA Generalist Manager, Cindy Van der Laan said: “It is exciting to see the wealth of talent we have in South Africa and the rest of the African Continent and hopefully this African Karting Cup will ignite greater interest and participation in the sport.”

A full list of winners can be found below:


OK-N (14+)

  • Muhammad Wally (South Africa) – 1st
  • Nikki Vostanis (South Africa) – 2nd
  • Niko Zafiris (South Africa) – 3rd


OK-J (11-14)

  • Wian Boshoff (South Africa) – 1st
  • Luke Hill (South Africa) – 2nd
  • Amani Kinyua (South Africa) – 3rd


Mini ROK (8-13)

  • Max Boshoff (South Africa) – 1st
  • Declan Jurgens (South Africa) – 2nd
  • Sebastien Blignaut (South Africa) – 3rd