New independent members of the FIA Senate announced | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

New independent members of the FIA Senate announced


The FIA has confirmed the appointment of the four independent members of its Senate, the body that oversees the management, governance and finances of the FIA administration across both Sport and Mobility pillars.

Following his re-election to the FIA Presidency for a third term, Jean Todt proposed to the other members of the Senate four independent and qualified members – all of whom were approved to take up their position in the 16-member Senate.

Gerardo Braggiotti and Jean-Michel Darrois return to the FIA Senate for 2018, while Jacques Audibert and William E. Connor will become the Senate’s newest members, taking up their positions for the first time.

Jacques Audibert (France) is the Deputy Secretary General of the SUEZ Group. Previously, he was a Diplomatic Adviser to French President Hollande and G7-G20 French Sherpa, and before a Diplomatic Adviser to the French Minister of National Defence, and Technical Adviser to the Minister of Industry and Town and Country Planning.

William E. (Chip) Connor (United States of America) is the Chairman and CEO of the William E. Connor Group, one of the world’s largest privately held merchandise sourcing companies, representing more than 60 retailers, brands and direct-to-consumer companies in North America. Born and raised in Tokyo, Japan, Mr Connor was educated at Stanford University and was admitted to the California Bar Association. He is an avid vintage car enthusiast, one of the world’s leading collectors, and a long-time competitor in modern and historic racing.

Gerardo Braggiotti (Italy) is the CEO and Chairman of Banca Leonardo in Italy, and was heavily involved in its acquisition and recapitalisation by European investors. He is also the Chairman and Co-Promoter of Sprintitaly a Spac, a special purpose acquisition company listed on the Italian Stock Exchange. Prior to this, Mr Braggiotti owned the GB Partners advisory company, had been the Chairman of the European arm of financial advisory and asset management company, Lazard, and subsequently also Deputy Chairman of Lazard LLC Board.

Jean-Michel Darrois (France) is an Attorney at the Paris Court of Appeal, Associate Professor at the Paris Institute of Political Studies and Chairman of the International Board on Economic Regulations. Mr Darrois is a former member of the French Bar Association Board, former Chairman of the Council of the Bars and Law Societies of the European Union, and the former Chairman of the Commission on the Reform of the Legal Professions appointed by the President of the French Republic.

The rest of the FIA Senate membership includes the Senate President, FIA President and Deputy Presidents, and other members selected specifically to ensure a balanced representation of both Sport and Mobility. Please click here to see the list of the FIA Senate members.

The Senate handles issues relating to the management and general policy of the FIA that cannot be covered by either the World Motor Sport Council or the World Council for Automobile Mobility and Tourism.