Formula Regional European Championship - Imola - Vesti penalized, Fittipaldi wins race 3 | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile

Formula Regional European Championship - Imola - Vesti penalized, Fittipaldi wins race 3

  • fr
  • es

The Danish dominated the race but finished behind Fittipaldi and Fraga on the podium 

The three Prema Powerteam drivers started well, with Vesti holding the lead while Fittipaldi relinquished second place to Caldwell. Things went from bad to worse for Fraga (DR Formula RP Motorsport) who was involved in a coming together between several vehicles, with Matteo Nannini (Corbetta Racing Srls) coming off worse and dropping from the third row to tenth.

Schumacher (US Racing) lost four places after going out of the track while trying to overtake Fraga at Rivazza. A mistake for Caldwell caused him to go off-track and led to him retiring from the race, handing second position back to Fittipaldi. Bardinon (Van Amersfoort Racing) went off track at Tosa turn, eventually retiring with a transmission problem.

Arriving at Tamburello on the limit Guzman (DR Formula RP Motorsport) spun and passed through the gravel. Vesti also spun but kept going and with stronger pace than the rest of the field he took the lead. Behind him, Fittipaldi maintained position, fending off constant attacks from Fraga, followed by Sophia Floersch (Van Amersfoort Racing), who chose exactly the right moment to pounce and seize her first podium in the championship. Blomqvist (Kic Motorsport) retired after a duel with Nannini and was given a 25 second penalty after the clash.

A 5 second penalty followed for Vesti for weaving at the end of the Safety Car period.  Having held the lead, he finished third behind Fittipaldi and Fraga, with Sophia Floersch finishing just shy of the podium in 4th, and Marcos Siebert (US Racing), David Schumacher and Raul Guzman completing the placings.

To follow all the action from Formula Regional European Championship certified by FIA visit (Italian and English) and AutomotoTV, with live streaming on the website and on the championship’s Facebook page.