This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

Formula E - Beijing ePrix Preview

Preview for the first race of the new FIA all electric single seater championship.

Formula E is the FIA’s new single-seater championship and the world's first fully-electric racing series. The first race – or ePrix - takes place on Saturday, September 13 2014, in Beijing, China, on a temporary street circuit around the Olympic ‘Bird’s Nest’ Stadium.

The inaugural season runs from September 2014 to June 2015, competing in the heart of 10 of the world's leading cities including London, Buenos Aires and Miami. For the inaugural season, 10 teams, each with two drivers, will go head-to-head creating a unique and exciting racing series designed to appeal to a new generation of motorsport fans.

Formula E aims to represent a vision for the future of the motor industry over the coming decades, serving as a framework for R&D around the electric vehicle, accelerating general interest in these cars and promoting sustainability.


Beijing ePrix

Length:            3.44km

Turns:              20

Laps:                25 lap race



Car – Spark-Renault SRT_01E

All drivers use an identical fully-electric single-seater designed and built by Spark Racing technology together with a consortium of the leading manufacturers including McLaren, Williams, Renault, Michelin and Dallara.


All events will open with a 45-minute practice session followed by a further 30-minute session, giving drivers their first experience of the circuit. They will have up to two cars available to them giving them the option to change cars should they wish. Full power (200kw / 270bhp) will be available throughout.


The qualifying session is a straight fight for the fastest laptime and determines the order for the day's race. The session will last 55 minutes (40 minutes track) and see drivers divided into four groups of five cars, with each group having 10 minutes to set their best time. Full power (200kw / 270bhp) will be available throughout with drivers only able to use one car. The driver setting the fastest time will be awarded three points.


Races will begin by standing start and last for approximately one hour with drivers making one mandatory pit stop in order to change cars. Power will be restricted to 'race mode' (150kw / 202.5bhp) but for those drivers with FanBoost, the power output can be temporarily increased to 180kw / 243bhp for 5 secs per car. Points will be awarded using the standard FIA system with the driver setting the fastest lap also receiving two additional points.


Fans can give their favourite driver an extra speed boost by voting for them prior to the race. The three drivers with the most votes will each receive a 5-second ‘power boost’ per car per driver, temporarily increasing their car’s power from 150kw to 180kw. Just click here to cast your vote. You can change your mind as many times as you want until voting closes a short time before the start of the race.


Drives will score points using the standard FIA system of: 1st = 25pts, 2nd = 18pts, 3 = 15pts, 4th = 12pts, 5th = 10pts, 6th = 8pts, 7th = 6pts, 8th = 4pts, 9th = 2pts and 10th = 1pt. Three points will be awarded to the driver securing pole position, whilst the driver setting the fastest lap receives two points.




[All sessions take place in one day]

8:15 – 9:00                    Free practice 1

10:30 – 11:00                 Free practice 1

12:00 – 12:10                 Qualifying group 1

12:15 – 12:25                 Qualifying group 2

12:30 – 12:40                 Qualifying group 3

12:45 – 12:55                 Qualifying group 4

16:00                                 Race (25 laps)


Media Accreditation:

The Accreditation Centre is located in the lobby of the Grand Skylight Catic Hotel, No.18 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing - 北京市朝阳区北辰东路18号格兰云天大酒店

Opening hours:

Thursday 11 September    08:00 – 18:00

Friday 12 September        08:00 – 18:00

Saturday 13 September    07:00 – 10:00


Media Centre:

Located in the paddock. All media with pre-approved trackside, pitlane and/or grid access must collect a tabard from the reception desk beforehand. Free wifi available upon request. Interview area located outside the media centre.

Opening hours:

Friday 12 September         10:00 – 18:30/late

Saturday 13 September    07:00 – 21:00/late



Shortly after the finish of the sessions, results of the event can be found here.