ETRC - Hahn and Lacko take Hungarian FIA ETRC wins | Federation Internationale de l'Automobile
This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

ETRC - Hahn and Lacko take Hungarian FIA ETRC wins


An eventful pair of races at the Hungaroring on Sunday afternoon saw title rivals Jochen Hahn and Adam Lacko take victories as they continue their battle for the 2016 FIA European Truck Racing Championship crown.

FIA, Motorsport, Mobility, Road Safety, F1, WRC, WEC, WTCC, World RX

Hahn took his second win of the weekend in race three after fending off the advances of local hero Norbert Kiss and his Tankpool24 Racing Mercedes-Benz truck.

The fourth race saw Gerhard Körber take the chequered flag first on the road but a post-race penalty for both the German veteran and runner-up Ryan Smith saw Adam Lacko promoted to first position and maximum points. With Hahn finishing in fifth position it means that the German leads the Czech by 13 points with four events and 16 races remaining

32,000 passionate truck racing fans witnessed the action over the Hungaroring weekend seeing some typically thrilling racing.

Jochen Hahn took a hard-fought victory in race three at the Hungaroring to mirror his win in race one on Saturday and extend his title lead over Adam Lacko.

The race began with Hahn getting the better start and leading in to turn one ahead of poleman Norbert Kiss. The Hungarian ace delighted a bumper crowd, who came to see their truck racing hero as he pushed Hahn all the way to the chequered flag to claim a third consecutive podium position.

The gap between Hahn and Kiss fluctuated between 0.5 and two seconds in the first half of the event, but as it progressed the German was able to extend his cushion. However, Kiss always came back and by the final lap was within 0.666s of the winner who finished with his usual powerslide flourish as he exited the final corner.

For full details on Race Three click here

For race three results click here


Adam Lacko took maximum points in race four of the FIA European Truck Racing Championship at Hungaroring on Sunday evening after on the road winner Gerhard Körber and initial runner-up Ryan Smith were penalised for overspeeding at the start.

It had looked like Körber had taken a famous win in his Team Schwabentruck IVECO and scored his first victory since Jarama in 2009, before the stewards confirmed the decision which elevated Lacko’s Buggyra International Racing System ‘FatFox’ to the win.

Körber’s momentum started even before the race as he was also given a ten-second penalty for overspeeding in race thee. This relegated him to eighth and subsequently pole position on the reverse grid method for race four.

For full details on Race Four click here

For Race Four result click here