This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

EDRC: Zetterström and Ericsson extend championship lead after Hockenheim victories


Ida Zetterström and Jan Ericsson claimed victories in Top Fuel and Pro Modified classes during the penultimate round of the FIA European Drag Racing Championship held at the Rico Anthes Quartermile of the Hockenheimring

Both Zetterström and Ericsson extended their championship lead in their respective classes, taking important steps in their title campaigns. Johnny Oksa defeated Sandro Bellio in the Top Methanol final, while in Pro Stock Michael Malmgren claimed the win.

In the Top Fuel semi-final, the top two in the championship, Zetterström and Susanne Callin, faced each other. Zetterström stormed to a great 3.96s run to claim the win and extend her lead in the championship. In the final, the driver from Åland, Finland, although racing with a Swedish license, had to face the top qualifier, Jndia Erbacher who had a bye run in the semi-final.

In an extremely close heat, Zetterström had a better reaction time, took the lead and stormed to a 3.92s run. Erbacher came very close with 3.93s.

In Pro Modified Jan Ericsson remains unbeaten this season. The championship-leading reigning champion recorded a string of 5.8s runs to get the better of Jean Dulamon and, in an extremely close semi-final, second-best qualifier David Vegter to advance to the final.

On the other side of the elimination ladder, there were several surprises. Top qualifier Andres Arnover suffered mechanical problems and was not able to start in the quarter-finals. Mats Eriksson had mechanical problems as well and was not able to start in the semi-finals. Roger Johansson was the winner on that side of the ladder. After defeating Bruno Bader in the quarter-finals, the Swede had a bye run in the semi-finals to advance to the final.

The final between Ericsson and Johansson was over almost immediately after the start as Johansson got traction problems while Ericsson stormed to another great 5.85s run to claim the win. The reigning champion extended his lead over his closest rival, Vegter.

In Top Methanol the top two qualifiers, Bellio and Oksa advanced to the final. Bellio defeated Jürgen Nagel in the first round and had a bye run in the semi-finals. Oksa got the better of the top two in the championship, Silvio Strauch and Linn Fløysvik to advance to the final.

After recording a string of 5.5s runs, Bellio was the favourite in the final, but the reigning champion pulled a red light, handing the win to Oksa, who recorded a 5.58s run.

In the semi-finals of eliminations, in Pro Stock there was a major surprise as second-best qualifier Stefan Ernryd pulled a red light, handing the win to Michael Malmgren. Robin Norén carried on from where he left off in qualifying and defeated Simon Ekengren.

In a dramatic final, Norén was away first, while Malmgren suffered traction problems. It seemed as if it would be an easy win for Norén, but suddenly, halfway through the run, his car made a sharp move to the left and hit the wall. Norén was not injured, but his car suffered severe damage while the win went to Malmgren.

The title-deciding final round of the FIA EDRC is up next, taking place at the UK’s Santa Pod Raceway in two weeks’ time.