AfRS in Pole Position at WEC

The inaugural round of the FIA's new World Endurance Championship saw FIA Action for Road Safety at the top of the agenda.

The pole-winning Audi R18 of Andre Lotterer and co-drivers Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler, took to the grid emblazoned with the logo of the FIA campaign which aims to aid in saving five million lives on the world's roads by 2020.

The trio were joined for photographs by FIA President Jean Todt, who thanked the drivers and Audi for their support, and by FIA Senate President Nick Craw.

The campaign also received support over the weekend from Claude Plassart, President of the Automobile club de l'Ouest and a number of other drivers taking part in the 12 Hours of Sebring classic, the opening round of the WEC.
Karun Chandok and David Brabham of the JRM team, Rebellion Racing's Nick Heidfeld and Nicolas Prost and eventual race winner Allan McNish of Audi wore badges in support of the FIA initiative.
McNish went on to win his fourth 12 Hours of Sebring in an Audi R18 co-driven by Tom Kristensen, who took his sixth win and Dindo Capello for whom it was a fifth crown.