This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

2021 FIA World Rally Championship Acropolis Rally Greece - Preview


FIA World Rally Championship crews will take on another of the sport’s legendary challenges when the Acropolis Rally Greece returns on September 9-12.

This will be the world series’ first visit to Greece since 2013. Prior to that, the Acropolis Rally had been a fixture almost every year since the inaugural season in 1973, and is known for its incredibly punishing terrain, combining rocky gravel stages with high temperatures.

Sébastien Ogier won the Acropolis Rally in 2011 and takes a championship lead of 38 points into this year’s event. His Toyota team-mate Elfyn Evans, in second place, has been joined on the same number of points by Thierry Neuville following the Hyundai driver’s superb home victory at the previous round, Ypres Rally Belgium. Kalle Rovanperä (Toyota), Ott Tänak (Hyundai) and Takamoto Katsuta (Toyota) follow in the standings and in the road order for the opening day in Greece.

Dani Sordo returns to action in the third factory Hyundai, with Pierre-Louis Loubet also entered with a i20 Coupé WRC under the 2C Compétition banner. Gus Greensmith and Adrien Fourmaux will lead the M-Sport attack, with Greek driver Jourdan Serderidis returning to a Ford Fiesta WRC to contest his home event.

Nine cars are entered into FIA WRC2 in Greece, with championship leader Andreas Mikkelsen in a Toksport-entered Škoda Fabia Evo to go head-to-head with his nearest rivals, his teammate Marco Bulacia and TRT WRT’s Mads Østberg in a Citroën C3. Movisport’s Nikolay Gryazin switches to a Ford Fiesta Rally2 for this event. 

Eighteen drivers are entered in FIA WRC3, including points leader Yohan Rossel from France and his chief rival Kajetan Kajetanowicz from Poland - twice an Acropolis Rally winner in the FIA European Rally Championship. Lambros Athanassoulas, a class winner on the event back in 2009, leads the local contingent


After Shakedown on Thursday morning close to the Service Park in Lamia, the rally will begin in the capital city of Athens with a ceremonial start beneath the famous Acropolis and an opening street stage around Syntagma Square. On Friday, the rally moves west to the Peloponnese peninsula. Two passes of Aghii Theodori are separated by a single stage close to Loutraki, where there will also be a tyre-fitting zone. The Thiva and Elatia tests will then be run on the way back to Lamia. Saturday is the longest day of the event and features six stages in total. An initial loop of four stages is split in half by a tyre-fitting zone in Itea, before two of those tests – Pavliani and Eleftherohori – are repeated following service in Lamia. Sunday features the longest stage of the rally, the 33.2-kilometre Pyrgos between two runs of the renowned Tarzan test - the shorter second pass will serve as the rally-ending Power Stage.


Total distance:

1285.85 km

Stage distance:

292.19 km (22.72%)

Number of stages:



Media accreditation and attendance is strictly managed with modified terms under COVID-19 regulations. All attendees are required to comply with the COVID protocol as defined by the event organisers (please refer to Bulletin 1 and 2 on the Virtual Notice Board and in particular the COVID Delegate notes).



Media accreditation in Lamia

Media accreditation must be collected personally by accredited Pass Holders at the Media Accreditation Desk, located at in the Media Center building, Service Park at the National Trade Fair in Lamia. GPS: N38°53.422 E22°26.929

Opening hours:
Monday 6 September: 14:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 7 September: 08:00 – 21:00
Wednesday 8 September: 08:00 – 20:00
Thursday 9 September: 08h00 – 20:00
Friday 10 September: 08:00 - 20:00

Media accreditation in Athens

Media accreditation will also be possible in Athens on Thursday 9 September only just before ceremonial start.

Motorsport Greece - Olympic Athletic Center of Athens 
1 Spyros Louis street, 151 23 Maroussi
Entrance 6 (= ΣΤ in Greek letters on main entrance).

Opening hours: 
Monday 6 September: 10:00 - 20:00
Tuesday 7 September: 10:00 - 20:00
Wednesday 8 September: 10:00 - 20:00
Thursday 9 September: 14:30 to 16:00


Wednesday 8 September


Mandatory media safety briefing via video conference (details TBC)

17:00 hrs



Thursday 9 September


Shakedown for P1 and nominated drivers (max 3 passages)

08:00 – 09:00

Shakedown for P1 & only registered P2 & P3 drivers (max 3 passages)

09:00 - 10:00

Shakedown for non-priority drivers (only registered - max 3 passages)

10:00 - 11:00

FIA Press Conference, via video conference (details TBC)

11:00 hrs


11:00 hrs


11:25 hrs

-FIA WRC3 & non-priority guest driver 

11:20 hrs

WRC family photo in front of start ramp (P1 drivers/co-drivers), Athens

16:55 hrs

Acropolis ceremonial start followed by SS1, Athens

17:30 hrs 



Friday 10 September


Start of Sections 2, Lamia Service Park

09:00 hrs

Tyre-fitting zone, Loutraki

12:26 hrs

First car arrives media zone, tech. zone & flexi-service (TC6A), Lamia

19:40 hrs



Saturday 11 September


Start of Sections 5, Lamia Service Park

07:15 hrs

Tyre-fitting zone, Itea

11:19 hrs

First car for media zone, regroup, tech. zone & service (TC10A), Lamia

14:33 hrs

First car arrives media zone, tech. zone & flexi-service (TC12A), Lamia

19:03 hrs



Sunday 12 September


Start of Sections 8, Lamia Service Park

06:15 hrs

Tyre-fitting zone, town of Sperchiada

11:01 hrs

Podium Ceremony & Prize Giving, Lamia Service Park

15:18 hrs

Final media zone (TC15B), Lamia Service Park

After podium

FIA Press Conference, via video conference (details TBC)

16:05 hrs

- FIA WRC2 and WRC3 winning drivers

16:05 hrs

- Top three overall drivers and winning manufacturer representative

16:15 hrs




Thursday 9 September



Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT – Elfyn Evans (GBR)


Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT – Dani Sordo (ESP)


M-Sport Ford WRT – Richard Millener (GBR)






Toksport WRT – Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)


TRT WRT – Mads Østberg (NOR)




FIA WRC3 & non-priority drivers


WRC3 - Kajetan Kajetanowicz (POL)


WRC3 - Lambros Athanassoulas (GRC)


Non-priority - Molly Taylor (AUS)



Sunday 12 September

Winning FIA WRC3 Championship driver


Winning FIA WRC2 Championship driver


Top three drivers in the overall classification


Representative of the winning manufacturer


Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT

Sébastien Ogier (FRA) / Julien Ingrassia (FRA) - #1


Elfyn Evans (GBR) / Scott Martin (GBR) - #33


Kalle Rovanperä (FIN) / Jonne Halttunen (FIN) - #69



Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT

Thierry Neuville (BEL) / Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL) - #11


Ott Tänak (EST) / Martin Järveoja (EST) - #8


Dani Sordo (ESP) / Borja Rosada (ESP) - #6



M-Sport Ford WRT

Gus Greensmith (GBR) / Chris Patterson (IRL) - #44


Adrien Fourmaux (FRA) / Renaud Jamoul (BEL) - #16



The provisional classifications for all the WRC Championships is available on the following link: