2014 Asia Pacific Rally Championship Preview

The FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship is spread across a diverse range of countries, climates, cultures and a huge pop- ulation base of over 2.5 billion people.
In 2014 six events make-up the championship starting in New Zealand with the fast and smooth roads at Rally of Whangarei. A month later is the tropical island paradise and rough roads of New Caledonia followed by Australia’s Sunshine Coast and the International Rally of Queensland.
The APRC then heads to Asia to the very hot and humid Malaysian Rally based in Johor Bahru. Japan is next and the fast forestry and public roads of Rally Hokkaido, followed by the championship finale in the bamboo forests and mountains of Zhejiang province, China.
In 2014 India and Thailand will host ‘Asia Cup only’ events, with a view to both events having full status in the future.
Registered competitors can score points for the drivers, teams and manufacturers championships in the six rounds (not in- cluding Thailand and India) and must enter a minimum of five events to qualify.
Alternatively if an APRC registered Team nominates to run a vehicle in all events then a driver can enter one-off events with that team and score APRC drivers points.