FIA Lurani Trophy


FIA Lurani Trophy for Formula Junior Cars

Born in 1958 from an idea formulated by the Italian Count Giovanni Lurani, Formula Junior is, in many respects, the ancestor of the current Formula 4. Conceived to provide a point of entry into single-seaters, Formula Junior also put itself forward as economical, by using, among other things, mass-produced 1000 or 1100cc engines, gearboxes and brakes

Right from the start, Formula Junior proved to be a big hit with the public, even to the extent of overshadowing the Formula 3 of the era, which used 500cc engines borrowed from motorcycles. It predominated as a resolutely international category by being present on virtually every continent from 1958 until 1963, before the reformation, in 1964, of Formulas 2 and 3. Throughout its six rich seasons, the evolution of the cars was quick, passing from a front-engine configuration to a rear-engine configuration, into tubular chassis and even, with the Lotus 27, a monocoque chassis in aluminium. The category also provided a platform for several drivers who went on to dominate Formula 1, such as Jim Clark, Jochen Rindt and John Surtees.

A true pioneer, Formula Junior remained so throughout its existence, since in 1975, it became the first single-seater Formula of the past to be revived as an historic series. This same series attained the status of a full FIA Trophy in 1995, under the designation “FIA Lurani Trophy for Formula Junior Cars”, the reference to Count Lurani rounding off a richly successful history. In addition to being a fitting celebration of this major category in the history of competitions for single-seaters, the Lurani Trophy also regularly provided some of the most spectacular races in today’s historic events, the field of cars often being very crowded and the victories being very keenly contested. And the icing on the cake is the fact that in the Formula Juniors paddock, there is always a real family spirit and a shared passion among the competitors.

The little single-seaters of Formula Junior and the FIA Lurani Trophy will visit the circuits of Hockenheim, Pau, Monza, Nürburgring, Zandvoort and Dijon during the 2016 season.

The FIA Lurani Trophy for Formula Junior Cars will not take place in 2021.