This page contains archived information and may not display perfectly

Junior WRC sets cruising altitude for Rally Finland

  • fr
  • es

The penultimate round of the 2019 FIA Junior WRC Championship in Scandinavia is one of the highlights of the calendar.

2019 Junior WRC - Rally Finland

Prepare for take-off!

• In their quest for FIA Junior World Rally Championship glory, every crew wants to impress in Rally Finland’s 23 speed tests as a total of 48 points are up for grabs.
• The championship fight is heating up: just 15 points separate the top three, with 142 still available thanks to double points at the final round of the season at Wales Rally GB.
• Dennis Rådström and Jan Solans both have 19 stage wins this season, more than any other driver in FIA Junior WRC.
• Tom Kristensson is the only driver to finish on every FIA Junior WRC podium this season.
• It is the largest FIA Junior WRC entry of the 2019 season as the youngsters of AKK Sport’s Flying Finn Academy join the pack.

The need for ‘sisu’
‘Sisu’ is the word Finns use to describe courage and tenacity, which is something of a necessity to overcome Rally Finland’s challenges.
The majority of Finland’s stages are smooth gravel roads, allowing this year’s FIA Junior WRC drivers to push their cars in excess of 150 kph. Such high speeds mean there is little room for error as the majority of the flat-out sections are lined by rally-ending ditches and trees.
The jumps and speed of Rally Finland make it one of the most spectacular rallies of the season, attracting crowds from around the world. Drivers with experience on Rally Finland are certainly at an advantage here as smaller jumps aren’t so obvious during recce and have been known to catch inexperienced competitors out in previous years. Dennis Rådström, Julius Tannert, Tom Williams and Enrico Oldrati have all competed on Rally Finland in FIA Junior WRC in previous years.

The power of the M-Sport Fiesta R2T is nothing without the control of its tyres. For Rally Finland, the future stars of WRC can use a maximum of 22 Pirelli tyres, including shakedown, and can choose from 10 hard and 16 soft compound tyres.

Finland’s Future Stars
This year’s AKK Flying Finn Future Star award winner, Sami Pajari, will join the FIA Junior WRC field and make his debut in the FIA World Rally Championship. Although new to FIA Junior WRC, Pajari is very accustomed to Finnish rallying and will be one to keep an eye on throughout the rally. Joining Pajari is 19-year-old co-patriot Aleksi Röyhkiö, who is also a member of the Finnish driver development program.



1Jan Solans521971
2Tom Kristensson58462
3Dennis Rådström371956
4Julius Tannert33336
5Roland Poom 26026
6Tom Williams22022
7Martins Sesks18321
8Raul Badiu18018
9Enrico Oldrati14014
10Sean Johnston10010
11Fabrizio Zaldivar909
12Nico Knacker404
13Ken Torn123


Rally d’Italia Sardegna results:
1. Jan Solans / Mauro Barreiro 4h02m36.2s
2. Dennis Rådström / Johan Johansson + 00:14.9
3. Tom Kristensson / Henrik Appelskog + 03:27.2
4. Raul Badiu / Gabriel Lazar + 04:37.5
5. Martins Sesks / Krisjanis Caune + 05:34.9
6. Julius Tannert / Jurgen Heigl + 06:41.8
7. Fabrizio Zaldivar / Fernando Mussano + 08:58.9
8. Enrico Oldrati / Elia de Guio + 17:44.69.
9. Nico Knacker / Michael Wenzel +19:53.9

Tom Williams / Phil Hall
Sean Johnston / Alex Kihurani

Tour de Corse results:
1. Julius Tannert / Jürgen Heigl 3h51m50.0s
2. Tom Kristensson / Henrik Appelskog + 00:01.9
3. Dennis Rådström / Johan Johansson + 00:25.8
4. Jan Solans / Mauro Barreiro + 05:48.8
5. Tom Williams / Phil Hall + 06:36.7
6. Roland Poom / Ken Jarveoja + 07:35.3
7. Raul Badiu / Gabriel Lazar + 08:00.3
8. Enrico Oldrati / Elia de Guio + 08:30.5
9. Nico Knacker / Michael Wenzel + 09:36.9
10. Fabrizio Zaldivar / Fernando Mussano + 11:42.8

Ken Torn / Kauri Pannas
Martins Sesks / Krisjanis Caune
Sean Johnston / Alex Kihurani

Rally Sweden results:
1. Tom Kristensson / Henrik Appelskog 3:14:48.9
2. Roland Poom / Ken Jarveoja +1:31.2
3. Jan Solans / Mauro Barreiro +4:09.2
4. Tom Williams / Phil Hall +6:53.4
5. Sean Johnston / Alex Kihurani +11:43.1
6. Martins Sesks / Krisjanis Caune +13:20.9
7. Enrico Oldrati / Elia de Guio +16:23.8
8. Dennis Rådström / Johan Johansson +23:31.1
9. Fabrizio Zaldivar / Fernando Mussano +23:47.0
10. Ken Torn / Kuldar Sikk +24:00.0
11. Julius Tannert / Helmar Hinneberg +41:24.8
12. Nico Knacker / Tobias Braun +49:09.3
13. Raul Badiu / Gabriel Lazar +53:38.8